Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

How do you change the system password in Windows XP?

This is a discussion on How do you change the system password in Windows XP? within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have often encountered the advice to use strong passwords. I want to change the system password on my PC


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-25-2011, 11:41 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
OS: windows xp sp2



I have often encountered the advice to use strong passwords. I want to change the system password on my PC but I don't know the procedure for changing it. My PC is a Gateway E2500 and the operating system is Windows XP, Service Pack 3.

I've checked the manual, where the phrase "system password" does not appear. It doesn't appear in Microsoft Help or its Glossary, either.

I know what my present password is, so this isn't a forgotten password problem. I am not talking about a user password for a user account, but the system password for the whole operating system.

__________________
Deluge is offline  
Old 03-26-2011, 12:03 AM   #2
Certifiable Lazy Bum
 
sobeit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NEAR
Posts: 16,749
OS: win7pro/mint17


Send a message via Yahoo to sobeit

the user (admin) account is the full operating system unless you are talking about the bio password. That is the one where when you turn on the computer it immediately asks for the password.

__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is online now  
Old 03-26-2011, 07:46 AM   #3
Moderator - Microsoft Support Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 2,355
OS: XP SP3, Windows 7 SP1



References to the system password probably mean that for the Administrator account. It is the most powerful account in the system and can do the most damage, either accidentally or maliciously. If security is a concern it should have a strong password. But on many systems it doesn't have a password at all. Give it a good password, write it down, and put it in a secure location. Do not loose this password. If lost this forum will not be able to help you.

You can change the Administrator password from the Control Panel - Administrative Tools - Computer Management. Look in the "Local Users and Groups" section. This password can be changed by anyone logged in with an administrative account.
__________________
LMiller7 is offline  
Old 03-26-2011, 04:22 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
OS: windows xp sp2



How do you change the BIOS password? That may be the one we are talking about. I know that the password for my Admin user account is different from the system password that I want to change.
__________________
Deluge is offline  
Old 03-26-2011, 04:31 PM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,606
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Boot the computer into Setup ( Bios) look for Password or something like that. After you set a password, every time you restart your computer you will have to type the Bios password in before Windows will load and you can use the computer. If you forget your password you will not be able to access the computer and it is a little difficult to reset the Bios and password again. Unless this is a laptop and you are avoiding theft, there is little reason to set a bios password, and the Administrator passwords are enough.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 03-26-2011, 04:33 PM   #6
computer wizard
 
brobarapas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: planet earth/
Posts: 1,656
OS: windows 7 ultimate



what is your query/?/ you already have a bios password set and you want to change it? or you want to create one?
__________________
brobarapas is offline  
Old 03-26-2011, 07:13 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
OS: windows xp sp2



I want to change the system password. If that's the same as the BIOS password then that's what I want to change. I don't have to type it in every time I turn on the computer, though, which doesn't fit with what Spunk.funk is saying.
__________________
Deluge is offline  
Old 03-26-2011, 07:17 PM   #8
Certifiable Lazy Bum
 
sobeit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NEAR
Posts: 16,749
OS: win7pro/mint17


Send a message via Yahoo to sobeit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deluge View Post
I want to change the system password. If that's the same as the BIOS password then that's what I want to change. I don't have to type it in every time I turn on the computer, though, which doesn't fit with what Spunk.funk is saying.
you are getting confusing - do you or do you not want to type a password every time you turn on the computer?
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is online now  
Old 03-26-2011, 07:28 PM   #9
computer wizard
 
brobarapas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: planet earth/
Posts: 1,656
OS: windows 7 ultimate



Quote:
Originally Posted by Deluge View Post
I want to change the system password. If that's the same as the BIOS password then that's what I want to change. I don't have to type it in every time I turn on the computer, though, which doesn't fit with what Spunk.funk is saying.
I'm lost IN THIS THREAD,I dont fully understand what you want to do,you either want to create a bios password,or change the one you already have, which is it,?
__________________
brobarapas is offline  
Old 03-27-2011, 03:05 PM   #10
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,606
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


There is no "System Password" Each User account, including the built in Administrator account, may or may not have a Password attached to it. You can change the password of any account if you are logged in an account as user with Admin rights. by going to Start/Run and type control userpasswords2. Highlighting the account and choosing Change Password. If you want extra added security, you can add a Bios Password. This is set by booting into Setup (Bios) This is not part of your Windows or even your Hard Drive, but the Bios of your computer. If you set up this Bios password, you would have to type it in each time you started your computer before Windows Loads. If you forget or loose this Bios password, your computer will be disabled until the correct password is typed. I hope that clears it up for you.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 03-27-2011, 05:18 PM   #11
computer wizard
 
brobarapas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: planet earth/
Posts: 1,656
OS: windows 7 ultimate



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
There is no "System Password" Each User account, including the built in Administrator account, may or may not have a Password attached to it. You can change the password of any account if you are logged in an account as user with Admin rights. by going to Start/Run and type control userpasswords2. Highlighting the account and choosing Change Password. If you want extra added security, you can add a Bios Password. This is set by booting into Setup (Bios) This is not part of your Windows or even your Hard Drive, but the Bios of your computer. If you set up this Bios password, you would have to type it in each time you started your computer before Windows Loads. If you forget or loose this Bios password, your computer will be disabled until the correct password is typed. I hope that clears it up for you.
true words spoken

__________________
brobarapas is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD, atikmpag.sys
Hi! Since I installed Win7 on my new computersystem, i get these BSOD every first time on a day i start my computer. first some specs · OS - Windows 7 Ultimate · x86 · Windows 7 Ultimate · OEM · 1/2 year
emddummi BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 03-06-2011 02:55 AM
[solved] BSOD - Windows 7 x64 - 0x0000009F
Please help me with my BSOD. This is a new computer :( · OS - Windows 7 · 64 bit ? · Windows 7 only system ever installed (new computer) · I purchased a retail version and they installed it for me · 1 week old · OS was installed about two weeks ago · i7-950 overclocked to 3.6Ghz · Dual...
xmenotux BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 4 02-25-2011 05:59 PM
virus ends all programs, help please
Hello there, the other day whilst not really paying attention I allowed a fishy program to bypass my firewall, and it basically just shuts down any prgrm I open, and opens some fake virus software stuff. Anyways help please, I don't want to buy a new computer yet :grin:
redphase Inactive Malware Help Topics 8 02-25-2011 11:14 AM
BSOD and viruses i need help please
First off I wanna thank anyone and everyone who helps. I am new to this and realize you do it not because you have to, but because you want to help, so thankyou. Before attaching these zip files I will try my best to describe everything that is happening. OS: Windows 7 I Believe its 64 bit but...
cims10fau BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 02-21-2011 04:26 AM
Frequent BSOD's
I am having very frequent BSOD's. Currently running Win 7 64-bit. I was previously running Win XP 64-bit, and hoped formatting hdd and upgrading OS might solve the issues. It didn't help. I have installed new RAM with no improvement either. I have run the windows verifier and found that the PC...
jools68 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 5 01-25-2011 05:01 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:27 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts