Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

How can I monitor my internet traffic?

This is a discussion on How can I monitor my internet traffic? within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Not sure where I would post this. I go with this section and hope it's fine with you guys. I


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-07-2008, 06:07 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 8
OS: Windows XP SP2



Not sure where I would post this. I go with this section and hope it's fine with you guys.

I am suspecting there is activity in my PC that hogs too much bandwidth resource from me. While playing games online my ping is extremely unstable. It didn't use to be.

Is there a way for me to see what files is using internet and how much they waste?

__________________
ChrisY is offline  
Old 06-07-2008, 06:23 PM   #2
elf
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
elf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Knoxville, TN or Austin, TX depending
Posts: 7,196
OS: WinXP Pro SP3 and Windows 7

My System

Send a message via AIM to elf

Well you can always download a network monitor...I suggest Nework Monitor v3.1 because it is straight from Microsoft, though there are many other free network monitors available over the internet.

Alternatively, you can use the netstat command to see all open connections. The downside to netstat is it will not tell you which connection is using the majority of the bandwidth.

One other question, are you using a wireless router? or could there be another PC on your network?

__________________

If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!
I do not subscribe to threads, so if I stop replying, PM me with a link to your thread so I can find it again.
elf is offline  
Old 06-08-2008, 01:46 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 8
OS: Windows XP SP2



Just downloaded Net Monitor and learning how it works, thank you!

I have a normal router and 1 other PC in the network, but the lag is the same when I turn that computer off.

Here's what netstat says:

I'm a little concerned with the one called e177236250.adsl.alicedsl.de

What could that be?
__________________
ChrisY is offline  
Old 06-08-2008, 04:24 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Upstate New York, USA
Posts: 280
OS: XP Pro SP3; also a Ws7



Go to this Google page for info that may be helpful:
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q...de&btnG=Search

[redoak}
__________________
redoak is offline  
Old 06-08-2008, 05:44 AM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Coolfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wilkes-Barre, PA
Posts: 5,187
OS: Windows XP Pro / Windows Vista / Windows 7



I'm pretty sure that is your ISP. I don't think that would be your problem.
__________________
Coolfreak is offline  
Old 06-08-2008, 08:20 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 8
OS: Windows XP SP2



It is located in Germany though. I'm swedish and using the common provider Telia. It is not showing up on netstat anymore either... must've been some random site or something then? :S

I wonder why it's so unstable, when I download stuff it is always around max-speed (400-500 kb).
__________________
ChrisY is offline  
Old 06-08-2008, 08:21 PM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Coolfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wilkes-Barre, PA
Posts: 5,187
OS: Windows XP Pro / Windows Vista / Windows 7



That could just be your internet. Your internet may not be capable of running at a higher speed of 500 kb. Have you tried contacting your ISP and talking to them?
__________________
Coolfreak is offline  
Old 06-09-2008, 02:41 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 8
OS: Windows XP SP2



It was capable running these games before at very stable ping. When I called my providers today, asking them if there has been any traffic problems they claim there has been no problems.
__________________
ChrisY is offline  
Old 06-09-2008, 06:34 AM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Coolfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wilkes-Barre, PA
Posts: 5,187
OS: Windows XP Pro / Windows Vista / Windows 7



Have you tried restarting your modem? Turn the modem off, wait about 2-3 minutes, then turn it back on, and let it reconnect itself. See if that helps.
__________________
Coolfreak is offline  
Old 06-09-2008, 01:14 PM   #10
elf
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
elf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Knoxville, TN or Austin, TX depending
Posts: 7,196
OS: WinXP Pro SP3 and Windows 7

My System

Send a message via AIM to elf

You can also install a third party firewall such as Zonealarm which will allow you to choose whether any program/file gets to access the internet. You can lock it down so that only your game is allowed through and then test your ping.

You can also run a speed test from various locations Just search for one and make sure to choose a test location that is near where you live for accurate results.
__________________

If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!
I do not subscribe to threads, so if I stop replying, PM me with a link to your thread so I can find it again.
elf is offline  
Old 06-10-2008, 03:42 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 8
OS: Windows XP SP2



Is Speedtest.net a good one? In that case, here we go:

Short distance test:

Long distance test:


I'm afraid it could be my router playing pranks on me... Recently something has randomly denied access to some internet sites for me. I.e Google.com, MSN.com, Youtube.com etc.

It just says "Connecting to <page>..." and "Waiting for <page>"

Thing is I'm getting different results in IE respetively Firefox. While Google may work on IE it could be disabled in Firefox and vice-versa.

edit: I did restart my modem, shut it off for 10 mins or so. then turning everything off, computers, modem and router. It didn't work. :(
__________________
ChrisY is offline  
Old 06-10-2008, 01:49 PM   #12
elf
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
elf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Knoxville, TN or Austin, TX depending
Posts: 7,196
OS: WinXP Pro SP3 and Windows 7

My System

Send a message via AIM to elf

Look at c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\HOSTS. The HOSTS file is a hidden and protected system file so you will need to be sure that you are able to see hidden files and also protected system files.

Make sure that in your HOSTS file you have no references to the sites you cannot access.
__________________

If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!
I do not subscribe to threads, so if I stop replying, PM me with a link to your thread so I can find it again.
elf is offline  
Old 06-10-2008, 04:21 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 8
OS: Windows XP SP2



Went and checked it in notepad and I can't find them in that list. Right now I lost access to most of my favorites, most of them being forums I go to, but also big places like deviantart.com and google.com. Some sites like this one is rarely affected by this for some reason...

The "funny" part is that in 15 mins or so I will be able to connect to them again.
__________________
ChrisY is offline  
Old 06-10-2008, 04:59 PM   #14
elf
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
elf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Knoxville, TN or Austin, TX depending
Posts: 7,196
OS: WinXP Pro SP3 and Windows 7

My System

Send a message via AIM to elf

Next time you can't get to a website open a command prompt and type
c:\>tracert www.website.com
obviously substituting www.website.com with the address of the site you cannot access. This will go to each router along the way to the destination website and will let you know exactly where your problem is. Whether it's your router or an international router somewhere along the way.
__________________

If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!
I do not subscribe to threads, so if I stop replying, PM me with a link to your thread so I can find it again.
elf is offline  
Old 06-11-2008, 09:15 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 8
OS: Windows XP SP2



Okay, here we go. DeviantArt is one among some sites that is not responding right now, so here's what tracert says:
__________________
ChrisY is offline  
Old 06-11-2008, 10:38 PM   #16
elf
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
elf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Knoxville, TN or Austin, TX depending
Posts: 7,196
OS: WinXP Pro SP3 and Windows 7

My System

Send a message via AIM to elf

Perhaps you should take a look at the 5 Steps for Virus Removal and post any requested logs in the HijackThis Log Help section.

After they verify that your system is clean, if you are still experiencing problems come back and we will investigate further.

__________________

If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!
I do not subscribe to threads, so if I stop replying, PM me with a link to your thread so I can find it again.
elf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:40 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts