Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

High CPU After Reformat

This is a discussion on High CPU After Reformat within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm not a genius at computers, but I'm okay. I have reformatted my computer about 2 hours ago and I'm


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-04-2011, 07:18 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
OS: XP



I'm not a genius at computers, but I'm okay. I have reformatted my computer about 2 hours ago and I'm getting very high CPU. I had this before the reformat so I decided to reformat thinking it would work. After the reformat, I installed WSP 3 correctly and all the necessary drivers for my computer (Dell Dimension E521) I have absolutely no games installed at all. Please help . [:

__________________
Damian2o9 is offline  
Old 08-04-2011, 09:27 PM   #2
Visiting Expert
Microsoft Support Team
 
Michael_Larsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 644
OS: W7 Pro, W7 Ultimate, Vista Ultimate, Windows XP Pro, Linux (Ubuntu)

My System

Send a message via Yahoo to Michael_Larsen

Hi Damian. Welcome to TSF!

Sounds like your hard drive is bad. You could go to the Dell site HERE and under the SATA DRIVES section you'll see a number of drivers for various hard drives found in the E521 model. You might try downloading the current file there for the hard drive type you have. There are also some diagnostics applications as well.

Sometimes this is also caused by faulty hardware. How many peripherals do you have plugged in? Are you using a video card or just legacy video from the motherboard? I've also seen bad mice and bad keyboards cause the high CPU problem. Bad hardware can cause what is called an "interrupt storm" and you'll see your CPU running near or at 100% constantly.

Good day!

Mike

__________________
If your problem has been solved, please go up to the THREAD TOOLS pull-down menu at the top of the post and mark it SOLVED. Thank you!
Michael_Larsen is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 01:17 AM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,267
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Press F12 at bootup and run the Dell Diagnostics.
Run Process Explorer to see what program is using the highest amount of CPU.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 04:44 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
OS: XP



Darn. I tried tried all of your guy's suggestions, but none of them worked. Thanks for the help anyways. Sigh ]:
__________________
Damian2o9 is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 07:04 PM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,267
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
Run Process Explorer to see what program is using the highest amount of CPU.
Did you install Process Explorer Run it? What program is using the most CPU? you can suspend or kill the process or Google the name if you don't know what it does.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 08:27 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
OS: XP



System Idle Process is using 70-100 CPU (Changes every half second or so.)
The next highest is Chrome.exe which is using about 10-50 when a page is loading. As I am typing this, it is at 1-5 CPU. This information help?
__________________
Damian2o9 is offline  
Old 08-06-2011, 02:07 AM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,267
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


System Idle will always be high when the system is idle (get it, the CPU is 70-100 % idle, Free, or not being used) And Chrome is using the right amount of CPU for loading as browser use a lot when loading then settle down when surfing.
So what is this about high CPU usage?
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 08-06-2011, 11:16 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
OS: XP



Before I reformatted my computer, I was playing this game called MapleStory. It's a really simple game and doesn't require a good computer. I was playing it then suddenly it made my computer reach 100% CPU. It was really laggy. I reformatted it because I thought it was my computer, and it was.
__________________
Damian2o9 is offline  
Old 08-06-2011, 03:32 PM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,267
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Run Process Explorer when playing the game to see what is causing the CPU spike
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 08-06-2011, 11:47 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
OS: XP



Sorry but I do not know how to see what is causing the CPU spike.
__________________
Damian2o9 is offline  
Old 08-07-2011, 03:01 AM   #11
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,267
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


In process explorer look at the CPU column take note of the CPU Usage that is the highest (other then system idle process, of which we already discussed) Just next to that is the driver or program that is spiking the CPU.
Just wondering, if you don't know how to see what is causing high CPU then why did you title the subject of your Thread High CPU?
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 08-07-2011, 09:11 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
OS: XP



Oh. Sorry. I didn't understand your post at first. The actual game itself is causing the spikes. (MapleStory.exe)

__________________
Damian2o9 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High CPU usage, programs crashing, windows hanging
As the title suggests I am experiencing application hangs and when I check the task manager I routinely see my cpu usage to or near 100%. I have run malware bytes and ad aware and found nothing. Updated all my drivers and still see this happening. At a loss at what to do next. Running windows...
pcizzy Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 23 07-20-2011 07:22 PM
Laptop CPU temps too high during stress test
I have the laptop Asus N61Jv, and idle the temperatures range around the 30-45 degree mark, usually 40 degrees. For a notebook at least, I assume that is an expected temperature. The CPU is a Intel i5 M 430, and the maximum temperature for it is 100 degrees. So I decided to stress test it, using...
Jay_JWLH Motherboards, Bios & CPU 2 07-15-2011 09:09 AM
CPU fan spins on high rpm
Hello, I replaced AMD Phenom II x2 555 stock cooler becose it start to make to much noise.. it was quite before... I bought scythe katana 3 cooler but, noise remains... Problem is the rpm... default it should be 300-2500rpm for scythe katana 3... but mine is 2755 at idle so... same thing...
TTK998 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 13 06-01-2011 01:58 PM
Mouse movement is causing high cpu usage/screen freezing
I don't know if I posted this in the right forum, but I have Windows XP so I figured I'd start here. I'm having a problem whenever I move my mouse. The computer screen completely freezes up and doesn't update itself until I stop moving the mouse. Whenever I play computer games it is the most...
zxc2011 Windows XP Support 4 02-22-2011 04:29 PM
All you need to know to play the latest games on a Low End PC [updated:07/02/2011]
UPDATE: "3 games Benchmark Added: Dirt 3, Red Faction Armageddon, FEAR 3 NOTICE: I have Upgraded my CPU from a Dual Core E2200 to a Core 2 Duo E7400, so the old benchmarks are based on a Dual Core E2200, but starting from July 2011, all benchmarks will be based on the Core 2 Duo E7400 and the...
RockmasteR PC Gaming Support 2 11-12-2010 07:00 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts