Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Help needed to finish off removal of VISTA ANTIVIRUS 2008!!

907 views 8 replies 3 participants last post by  nelboy 
#1 ·
Hello all,

I am a newbie to these tec support forums, so bear with me (I can usually remove malware on my own with a bit of help from google!)... :normal:

After trying to set up a plug-in for Nero (at least i presume that's what it was, as that's when the trouble started) My system was infected with Vista Antivirus2008, a clone of the Antivirus2008 malware so I believe. My system has Spybot running in the background (and Bitdefender) and so those stopped the vast majority of dodgy registry entries being made pointing to the malware and the numerous trojans associated with it.

The VAV program has done the following to my system:-

- Disabled viewing of all Local hard drives from Explorer (although still accessable from typing the disc root into the address bar)... I have fixed this by installing Windows SteadyState onto the system.
- Disabled access to the registry, stating "Access to the registry has been disabled by the administrator", even though I am the administrator!... This was again fixed by SteadyState.
- Disabled the Task manager: Error message "The task manager has been disabled by the administrator" was shown, so i couldn't kill off the trojan's processes... I think this has been fixed by SteadyState
- XP Start Menu altered: No 'log off' button, no 'programs' buttom, no list of recently used programs, no access to Internet Explorer or Control Panel or the vast majority of links which used to be on the start menu. The programs menu is a lot smaller than it used to be. I NEED HELP FIXING THIS!!