Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Help I'm new to this

2K views 24 replies 5 participants last post by  spunk.funk 
#1 ·
Hello
I have a Compaq Presario sl1417cl that I got from a friend. It had the expired trial version of windows 7. I tried to erase it and upgrade to win 8 somewhere in the mix something went wrong. Now all my computer is doing is booting up into windows xp recovery console. it gives me 3 options
1. D:\MiniNT
2. D:\I386
3. c:\windows

when I select option 3 it ask for admin password. Again that I don't have. So I'm stuck here. I don't have any recovery cd's and I don't have a password. Also I tried to use the recovery disk for Arcdc that suppose to work like a recovery disk. When I insert that disk and restart it just goes to black screen with a blinking cursor. Someone please help!!!

#3 ·
I tried to erase it and upgrade to win 8
How did you Erase Windows?
If you booted off of the Windows Disc or USB, in the Setup/Install of Windows you could choose to Format (erase) the Windows Partition, or you could Delete all partitions and just create one large one, and Format NTFS. Then install Windows 8

#6 ·
Do you have a Windows DVD? If so, restart the computer with the disc in. Boot into Setup (Bios) usually by pressing F2. Here go to Boot Priorities. Using your Arrow Key and your Enter key move CD/DVD rom drive to First Boot Device. Save and Exit. You may be able to do this by pressing F12 at bootup for a one time boot.
when the computer starts with the bootable disc in, you should see the message Press Any Key To Boot CD/DVD. Now you are booting from the CD/DVD. Follow the directions from this link: Clean Install - Windows 8

#10 ·
We need a lot more information. Where did you get the Windows 8 CD? As stated, Microsoft Windows 8 comes on DVD and will not fit on a CD.