Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Hard-disk drive failure and diskette drive 0 seek failure

This is a discussion on Hard-disk drive failure and diskette drive 0 seek failure within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello all, newbie here, someone can help me out :). My desktop sudden won't turn on then I replace the

Closed Thread

Old 07-25-2012, 06:43 PM   #1
Registered Member

Question

Hello all,

newbie here, someone can help me out :). My desktop sudden won't turn on then I replace the power supply and power is back on however i see this message when screen boot up.

"Hard-disk drive failure
Diskette driver 0 seek failure"

press f1 to continue and f2 to enter SETUP. If i press F1 go back to the message above.

Dell Inspiron 530s desktop, window xp

many thanks

Old 07-25-2012, 08:36 PM   #2
- Microsoft Support

If you've verified that all devices are plugged in to power and the correct cable (ie floppy cable for floppy and ide/sata for HD), then it's possible that the power supply failing could have damaged the circuitry on the drives.

From time to time, we have been tempted to believe that society has become too complex to be managed by self-rule, that government by an elite group is superior to government for, by, and of the people. But if no one among us is capable of governing himself, then who among us has the capacity to govern someone else?
-Ronald Reagan, 1981 Inaugural Address-
Old 07-25-2012, 08:54 PM   #3

The error "DISKETTE Drive 0 Seek Failure" is referring to the FLOPPY drive 0 (or A:) and you should turn it 'off'.
I believe that you don't use any floppy drive (Due to a kind of old storage medium), so you may have to disable it right away by going to BIOS setup screen and see if the POST error goes away.

Let us know your progress.
Old 07-26-2012, 12:46 AM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus

OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System

Quote: