Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Error message: "This file does not have a program associated with it..."

This is a discussion on Error message: "This file does not have a program associated with it..." within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. When one of the programs I use tries to generate a particular PDF report, I get this error: "This file


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-16-2011, 12:01 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
OS: Windows XP



When one of the programs I use tries to generate a particular PDF report, I get this error:

"This file does not have a program associate with it for performing this action. Create an association in the Folder Options control panel"

At the top of the window showing this error message it shows:

C:\DOCUM-1\ADMIN-1\LOCALS-1\Temp\ast3DO.pdf

I've gone to the control panel and the .pdf file is associated with Adobe Reader. There is obviously something I am missing.

__________________
jimbuckwheat is offline  
Old 11-16-2011, 12:30 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,674
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Right click the file and choose Open With... Choose Adobe Reader from the list Put a check box in always associate this file with this program. You can also open Adobe Reader choose File/Open and browse to the downloaded file.

spunk.funk is offline  
Old 11-16-2011, 12:39 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
OS: Windows XP



Problem is, I can't find that file. When I search for ast3DO.pdf, nothing is found.
__________________
jimbuckwheat is offline  
Old 11-16-2011, 12:43 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,674
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


What program is it? When the program generates a report, save the report to a location like your Desktop. If that isn't an option, start the Program, go to Preferences/Options and find the log file option and try to change the destination to where the log file is saved and the program that opens it.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 11-16-2011, 12:51 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
OS: Windows XP



The program is Morningstar Principia. Either I can't find the report or it does not completely finishing generating it. I have gone to the Preferences section and I can see where they should be going, but these particular reports are not there. Other PDFs that get generated by the program do go there.

By the way, thanks for taking the time to help with this.
__________________
jimbuckwheat is offline  
Old 11-16-2011, 01:10 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,674
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbuckwheat View Post
I have gone to the Preferences section and I can see where they should be going, but these particular reports are not there. Other PDFs that get generated by the program do go there.
Try updating or patching the software. If you continue to have problems contact the Principia Support
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 11-16-2011, 01:42 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
OS: Windows XP



Thanks I'll give that a shot

__________________
jimbuckwheat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't access any google sites
I have WindowsXP Professional Version 2002 Service Pack 3 IntelR Pentium 4 CPU 3.20GHz 3.19GHz, 0.99GB of RAM and can not access any google sites. I have a wireless router & modem and all other computers can access google (not networked). One other was networked previously and could access google,...
CarolBT Resolved HJT Threads 43 08-14-2011 09:16 AM
need help to remove trojan
I do have access to windows re-install cd. I have trojan no virus protection will get rid of. Started with windows poping up saying computer had been hacked. Avg poped up warning of trojan. It blocked me from getting onto internet or running Avg unless I downloaded an ran its program. I went in...
Tammy53 Resolved HJT Threads 33 05-26-2011 08:03 AM
wuauclt.exe application error, malware?
Hi guys I get application error from "wuauclt.exe" when I startup my PC running window xp professional xp3. The error message keeps popping up and I had to close it 10+ times during startup. My PC cannot perform automatic update anymore. Here's the error message: The instruction at...
liquidosnake Resolved HJT Threads 9 04-22-2011 11:57 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:38 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts