Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Error Code: 1000-0146

This is a discussion on Error Code: 1000-0146 within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My mother's Dell Inspiron B130 all of a sudden would not start up and she asked me to take a


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-14-2008, 12:32 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
OS: WINXP



My mother's Dell Inspiron B130 all of a sudden would not start up and she asked me to take a look at it. I ran a Diagnostic and the above Error Code showed up ... 1000-0146 saying DST Short Status Test Failed. I have tried starting the computer in every way possible but the comp will not start up. The screen just remains blank. I know the screen works properly due to the diagnostic test as well as me being able to see the Start-up Menu. Starting using Last Known Configuration yields the same result. When I try to start up using Safe Mode ... All that appears is a series of lines of text and then nothing happens. The lines of text remain in place and no key strokes have any effect. I'm almost sure this is a HD Failure but my mom doesn't want to lose all the stuff she had on her laptop. Do any of you have any solutions to my problem.

__________________
JPice is offline  
Old 12-14-2008, 07:57 AM   #2
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Visitng Expert
 
Dunedin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Over the Forth from Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 4,277
OS: WinXP Pro/Windows7 Ultimate



Hello JPice

Yes that is a hard drive failure message I`m afraid.

The safest way of retrieving your files is to take the drive out of the laptop altogether and put it in another PC as a Slave drive. Then you should be able to copy all your data in Windows Explorer.

You'll need a 2.5" to 3.5" adapter to put a laptop drive in a desktop PC.

http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16812203012

.

__________________
Dunedin is offline  
Old 12-14-2008, 09:20 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
OS: WINXP



Thanks for the help ... I figured I would have to do this. I just wanted to make sure.

Question though ... Where does the white end of that adapter fit into when I get it? I don't have a desktop PC.
__________________
JPice is offline  
Old 12-14-2008, 09:40 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
OS: WINXP



Will this product solve my problems?

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=3032177
__________________
JPice is offline  
Old 12-14-2008, 03:04 PM   #5
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Visitng Expert
 
Dunedin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Over the Forth from Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 4,277
OS: WinXP Pro/Windows7 Ultimate



I think you will need to have access to a desktop PC and use the adapter. Don`t you know someone who has a desktop you could use?

The white connection is a power feed, to be connected in the desktop.

.

__________________
Dunedin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:14 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts