Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Enabling Minidump

This is a discussion on Enabling Minidump within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I recently got a Stop error, but my computer isn't writing any minidumps. I think I disabled the minidump option


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-22-2009, 02:48 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 13
OS: Windows Vista Service pack 1 64bit (Windows won't let me upgrade to service pack 2 :'( )



I recently got a Stop error, but my computer isn't writing any minidumps.
I think I disabled the minidump option by mistake but can't turn it back on because I can't access my system.

I can however access another Operating system that is installed on my computer, and through this i can access the files that was on the none respoding OS.

So is there a way to enable minidump on another OS without going to control panel or my computer?

__________________
Snowyjoe is offline  
Old 10-22-2009, 04:47 AM   #2
CCT
Helper
 
CCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,121
OS: abacus



You would need to change [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\PCHealth\ErrorReporting] subkey
DoReport reg_dword 0x00000000 to reg_dword 0x00000001.

This could be done, apparently, using BartPE (for instance); http://windowsxp.mvps.org/peboot.htm

__________________
CCT is offline  
Old 10-22-2009, 07:16 AM   #3
Enthusiast
 
pat mcgroin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toledo Oh.
Posts: 2,862
OS: Windows 7 Professional x86 :W7 x 64

My System


Another possible reason could be if the page file is turned off.
I know some people do that and windows wont write a dump file with it off.
__________________
pat mcgroin is offline  
Old 10-23-2009, 01:21 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 13
OS: Windows Vista Service pack 1 64bit (Windows won't let me upgrade to service pack 2 :'( )



would it be possible to turn on the page file using BartPE as well?
__________________
Snowyjoe is offline  
Old 10-23-2009, 05:22 AM   #5
CCT
Helper
 
CCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,121
OS: abacus



The page file registry entry is at [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Memory Manager] “PagingFiles” Reg_Multi_Sz C:\pagefile.sys xxxx xxxx

Where, if you have over-ridden auto handling of the pagefile size like I have, xxxx xxxx = minimum and maximum size (or set both the same)
__________________
CCT is offline  
Old 10-24-2009, 11:24 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 13
OS: Windows Vista Service pack 1 64bit (Windows won't let me upgrade to service pack 2 :'( )



I'm guessing I'll need to load my own hive in order to change the values in the registory. But when I browese for me windows installation drive (C:\Windows\) no files are displayed.

I've installed another version of Win XP on the same drive (C:\Windows2\) but I am able to view it's files like normal.

I'm booting BartPE from a burnt disk.
Could the Windows2 be causing this problem?
__________________
Snowyjoe is offline  
Old 10-25-2009, 02:44 AM   #7
CCT
Helper
 
CCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,121
OS: abacus



I dunno - try a more conventional approach - http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/xp_sys32.htm

__________________
CCT is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts