Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Dvd no picture, only sound

This is a discussion on Dvd no picture, only sound within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi my problem is that when i go to play DVD's i get sound but no picture. The menu does


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-13-2007, 04:19 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 40
OS: Win Xp service pack 2



Hi my problem is that when i go to play DVD's i get sound but no picture.
The menu does come up however when i go to play it there is only sound and no image.

Computer specs:
Pentium 3

Toshiba 1800 series latop.
Windows XP service pack 2

At one stage one Dvd did actually play for a few minutes...and then didn't work after that.
I have ruled out that its the hardware...i believe anyway, as i have actually swapped out the dvd laser and chip from another 1800 series laptop.
I have tried using different movie players and all have the same problem, with no actual errors comming up.

Thanks in advance for your help.

__________________
Duva is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 12:23 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
MadFrom1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kent
Posts: 26
OS: Windows Vista, Windows XP pro, PCLINUX 07, Knoppix



Have you ever been able to play DVDs, I'm just wondering wether the Laptop has too low of a spec to run a DVD? (also, more system specs would be helpful.)

__________________
MadFrom1991 is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 12:35 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
rickatnight11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 136
OS: Windows XP

My System

Send a message via AIM to rickatnight11 Send a message via MSN to rickatnight11 Send a message via Yahoo to rickatnight11 Send a message via Skype™ to rickatnight11

What software are you using to play the DVD? Try downloading the K-Lite Mega Codec Pack from http://www.codecguide.com/download_mega.htm and installing that. This should install another DVD codec that you should be able to use.
__________________
rickatnight11 is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 07:52 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 40
OS: Win Xp service pack 2



Sorry i probably should have added that yes, when i used to use this laptop a few years ago it did play Dvd's.

Im not sure exactly what system specs you need.
umm..
256mb ram. (It used to have 128 and still played dvd's.)
15gig hard drive.
Windows XP came with the laptop.

I beleive as in old laptops the video card is built into the motherbourd.

Ill check that video codec, (ill have to wait a few hours as its for my dads laptop and he's not here.

I thought it may be somthing to do with the codec aswell, the one on my system is from 2001.

thanks for the replies ill get back to you if the codec works or not thanks.
__________________
Duva is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 07:54 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
rickatnight11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 136
OS: Windows XP

My System

Send a message via AIM to rickatnight11 Send a message via MSN to rickatnight11 Send a message via Yahoo to rickatnight11 Send a message via Skype™ to rickatnight11

Most often when you have a video playing only video or only sound it's a codec problem.
__________________
rickatnight11 is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 12:06 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 40
OS: Win Xp service pack 2



Ok, i tried the mega codec and it still doesn't work. When i installed the new mega codec, towards the end it did identify that some other codecs were broken. What should i do next? Yes i tried playing using the windows media classic, that came with the program.

Using PCfriendly dvd player----This is in the information section of the program, as you can see it is using the Decoder... so i still have no idea whats happening lol. once again thanks for any help.

Decoder Provider:
Decoder Type:
Decoder Name: C:\Program Files\K-Lite Codec Pack\ffdshow\ffdshow.ax
Decoder Version:
Decoder Driver Date: June 24, 2007, 05:04 PM
Navigator Name: DirectShow
Navigator Version: 1
Is DVD Device Found: Yes

Heres the details of the video card in the laptop.

trident video accelerator Cyber-Blade - Ai1

The driver is from microsoft-- 6/06/2001 In aus date n time (although it doesn't matter as both are 6's lol) driver version 5.1.2001.0

Just thought this may help.
__________________
Duva is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 03:34 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Kuwait
Posts: 95
OS: Windows XP SP2


Send a message via MSN to peewee Send a message via Yahoo to peewee

what software do you use to play dvds?? u could try power dvd or jet audio...jet audio is free so try that out after installing k-lite mega codec pack...
__________________
peewee is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 04:49 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 40
OS: Win Xp service pack 2



Yeh but with the mega codec pac-- It comes with a classic media player which should be able to play DVD's, and i tried that. Ill give the jet audio a try. thanks.

I have tried ---
Several DVD players,
Interactual player, and PCfriendlyDVD.
Aswell as the classic player which came with K-Lite mega codec pack.

Thanks.
__________________
Duva is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 06:18 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
rickatnight11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 136
OS: Windows XP

My System

Send a message via AIM to rickatnight11 Send a message via MSN to rickatnight11 Send a message via Yahoo to rickatnight11 Send a message via Skype™ to rickatnight11

The last thing I would recommend trying is VLC as it uses its own local codecs to play close to any file. Sounds like something else is the issue, however, since multiple programs are doing it. Can you play other types of video files?
__________________
rickatnight11 is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 09:25 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Kuwait
Posts: 95
OS: Windows XP SP2


Send a message via MSN to peewee Send a message via Yahoo to peewee

yyea...can you like play other high quality videos like compressed avi and stuff??
__________________
peewee is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 02:59 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 40
OS: Win Xp service pack 2



Im not sure, where can i get a file to test? it plays youtube videos and all that but im not sure if thats what you guys want. Thanks. It can't be the program, i mean i have tried 4 different two of which i know used to work.
__________________
Duva is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 03:08 AM   #12
Not...
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 22,264
OS: Xp



What version of DirectX do you have installed?
__________________
Deleted090308 is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 04:31 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 40
OS: Win Xp service pack 2



DirectX 9.0c
I went to the microsoft website and just updated... although there was no download, it just went straight to finsh, so i think i already had it on.
__________________
Duva is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 04:40 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Kuwait
Posts: 95
OS: Windows XP SP2


Send a message via MSN to peewee Send a message via Yahoo to peewee

k...now this just baffles me...at first i was certain it was a codec problem since i had to deal with the same problem earlier...u sure it doesnt work on media player after installing k-lite?? and oh yeah, did u try jet audio?? and also try VLC like rickatnight11 suggested...
__________________
peewee is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 04:40 AM   #15
Not...
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 22,264
OS: Xp



Copy one of the .vob files on the DVD to the hard drive and see if it plays from there.
__________________
Deleted090308 is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 04:50 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 40
OS: Win Xp service pack 2



Jet audio didn't work and infact tended to freeze alot, i beleive as the system is a P3. Im trying the .Vob now, itll take 3 mins to transfer over.

The thing is like i said, Is that the menu of the DVD's used to come up, and once it actually played a movie for a few mins.
__________________
Duva is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 04:53 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Kuwait
Posts: 95
OS: Windows XP SP2


Send a message via MSN to peewee Send a message via Yahoo to peewee

hey...u dint mention weder dis is a new problem...i mean has it been like this always or did this prob start recently out of nowhere?? what i mean is did ur pc play dvds earlier???
__________________
peewee is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 05:04 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 40
OS: Win Xp service pack 2



Yeh lol if you read i did actually say it used to play DVD's fine... Bassicaly 2 years ago i used to use it for school and it played DVD's....The screen went and we didn't use it for two years, We fixed the screen few weeks ago (Loose wire lol) and we just tried to play a DVD and it didn't work....

I did update to windows service pack two after we fixed the screen and then tried to play DVD's... so im not sure if it may have anything to do with that?

Ill get back to you if i can play .vob in about 5mins thanks...the comp froze lol ;)
__________________
Duva is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 05:08 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Kuwait
Posts: 95
OS: Windows XP SP2


Send a message via MSN to peewee Send a message via Yahoo to peewee

ohh...k....sowwiee...dint read tht part...k...vell, mayb if dis dosent work u shud take it back 2 where u got ur screen repaired and ask them about it...i know this might sound weird but it is possible the screen is now unable to support a certain frequency or fps...
__________________
peewee is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 05:25 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 40
OS: Win Xp service pack 2



Lol, we fixed the screen ourselves, like i said the wire at the back of the scren fell out, we put it back it. The screen would most defently be able to support it as it has before.

Sorry guys, i don't have access arg... lol my dad left n he doesn't like me on it when he isn't here. Although i did try run that file using the windows classic thing and it didn't even play, i will try one of the other players soon.

__________________
Duva is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help needed with onboard video.
I have a mad prob. I'm in iraq, and my agp vid card to shrap from a mortar that landed outside my window and made it kaput. So i resorted back to the onboard video, but now I have no 3d capabilities. I.E. no games will play. And I can't dowload the drivers for the onboard. My MB is "acorp" wich no...
hellrogue Windows XP Support 48 07-14-2007 01:29 AM
Random lockup/crashes.. sound card often not recognised afterwards.
Think this may be a hardware issue, but since I can't pin down what hardware I figured I'd pick the XP forum. I'm actually in dialogue with the company that sold me my pc (www.pcspecialist.co.uk), but since so far they've been unsuccessful in resolving my problem I figured I'd try one or two...
Breschau Windows XP Support 8 04-11-2007 09:46 AM
What ram to get
Hello I am aiming to upgrade my computer. I have a windows xp SP2. My CPU is a Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.66GHz, My current ram or so it says is 224. I am wanting to go to 1 gig. I would like to know if i can do this and if i can. How do i know what to get. Do I want DDR or what I am really...
Frozencrow RAM and Power Supply Support 23 03-25-2007 05:00 AM
Sound has static, and only comes thru one ear
My sound was perfect, then eventually it started to sound static. Along with having a static sound to it, the sound would only come through one ear of my headphones. However, if I wiggled and turned the plug connecting the headphones to the computer a bit, the sound would be clear again. I could...
Evans1 Sound Cards 1 08-31-2006 06:08 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:03 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts