Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

DirectX10 on Win XP PRO fails - Streaming SIMD Extensions support required.

8K views 3 replies 3 participants last post by  w.sky 
#1 ·
I have just installed Windows XP Pro on my machine. I've been using 2000 for a few years now and it has proved enough for my requirements, but some software no longer supports Windows versions earlier than XP, and since my machine will not run vista installing XP was a reasonable choice.

I've got as far as Direct X installation. The only game I play is World of Warcraft and although my machine isn't a flashy spec it runs WoW at a respectable speed. I downloaded the Nov 2008 Direct X full distribution from microsoft but the installation fails. Running the web setup version yields more information and it halts with the following dialogue box:
Title: Microsoft XAudio 2
Text: CPU does not meet minimum requirement; Streaming SIMD Extensions support required.
Options: OK

My system spec (if you cannot see it from my profile) is:
Athlon 1GHz, Abit KT7A-RAID MB, 1.5GB SD-RAM, Creative Soundblaster 128 PCI, nVidia GeForce FX 5600XT, Seagate 160GB PATA mech.

Fair enough you might think - this is an old set of kit, BUT all of this kit was fine to install DirectX 9.0c (below) a few months ago on my Windows 2000 Pro installation. The only thing that has changed is that Win XP is installed on a new HDD Mechanism, all other hardware is unchanged. For that reason I think there is more to it than the error message is letting on...
directx9.0c 9.24.1400 2008-08-18 directx_aug2008_redist.exe

I did find this other thread which seemed to be the same problem but the OP didn't reply to the posters asking for more information.
http://www.techsupportforum.com/gam...here-do-u-find-streaming-simd-extensions.html

I'd be grateful for any helpful replies on this topic.
Many thanks in advance
Paul