Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Desktop icons will now only auto-arrange.

This is a discussion on Desktop icons will now only auto-arrange. within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have obviously affected a change to my system, perhaps my registery, that now causes my large assortment of desktop


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-08-2007, 12:57 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Delaware
Posts: 108
OS: Windows XP Pro SP3

My System

Question

I have obviously affected a change to my system, perhaps my registery, that now causes my large assortment of desktop icons to auto-arrange upon each boot or reboot.

I have tried all options available by the menu from right-clicking on the desktop. I am no longer able to rearrange the icons by selecting the options offered such as size, name, etc. If I manually rearrange them (and lock the desktop and/or save a "scheme"), they still auto-arrange on the next boot.

I can find no help in the "Help" section other than the above. Would anyone know how I can regain my ability to selectively arrange and keep the pattern of desktop icons?

Thanx!!

__________________
hhannam is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 03:02 PM   #2
Manager, TSF Articles
 
JohnthePilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Cheltenham, near Wales.
Posts: 35,403
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1

My System

Send a message via MSN to JohnthePilot

If you are happy making changes to your registry try this. First, set a system restore point. Next, click on Start>run. In the box type "regedit". As an extra precaution click File on the top line then select Export. Name the file "backup" and save to your desktop. Navigate to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer. In the right hand pane there may be an item called "NoSaveSettings". If you don’t see this, add it as a binary value, by right clicking in the right hand pane and selecting "New" then "Binary". Type in "NoSaveSettings" without the quotes and enter the value: 00 00 00 00 If it already exists edit it to 00 00 00 00, then exit from regedit. See if that works. If it doesn't you can either delete the entry from the registry or import your backup. Let me know how you get on.

__________________



Cenedl heb iaith, cenedl heb galon

JohnthePilot is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 05:36 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Delaware
Posts: 108
OS: Windows XP Pro SP3

My System


"JohnthePilot" -

Thank you for your reply. Unfortunately, your suggestion didn't seem to have any affect. I did change my existing "No save settings" value from [00 01 00 00] to [00 00 00 00], but I see no changes. The right-click/"arrange icons by" options still don't work, and after manually relocating an icon and resetting "lock desktop" I rebooted, but the icon was back in the auto-arranged grouping.

While you additionally suggested deleting the entry or importing the backup, I was unsure what you meant by "deleting the register entry" (delete "No save settings" or just the numerical changes) and I could not find my backup on the desktop when I looked...?

Have any other suggestions?

Incidentally...my paternal grandfather was born and raised in the Worcester area...not far from your current location. Small world sometimes, isn't it? Thanx for you time and effort, no matter what.
__________________
hhannam is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 06:52 PM   #4
Manager, TSF Articles
 
JohnthePilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Cheltenham, near Wales.
Posts: 35,403
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1

My System

Send a message via MSN to JohnthePilot

I'm sorry that didn't work. I've found a link to a program that may help you. Click on this then scroll down to line 188. In the right-hand pane you'll see an entry "Add Save & Restore Desktop Layout to Menu". Click on this to download the zip file. Extrtact this and open the iconlayout.vbs file. This will add an entry to the right click on desktop drop down menu. See what that does. I can't try it as I don't have the problem, but Kelly's Lorner is very reliable. Let me know how you get on.

Yes, it is a small world. Worcester is only 30 miles down the road. More of a coincidence is that one of my fellow team members on the Articles Team, who lives in Adelaide, used to live in Cheltenham.

EDIT: I forgot to say that the instructions about using the backup or changing the default value only applied if anything went wrong. Otherwise the value will reset automatically, so you don't need to worry about it.
__________________



Cenedl heb iaith, cenedl heb galon

JohnthePilot is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 08:38 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Delaware
Posts: 108
OS: Windows XP Pro SP3

My System



To: JohnthePilot's second reply

As you proposed, I successfully added the option of saving the icon layout to the right-click menu, but unfortunately it doesn't work (as previously mentioned, the other options don't work either, so I guess I shouldn't be surprised).

It would seem that I've somehow done something which has affected the registry and it is overriding these features. I wonder what else it's affecting...??

Once again, thanks for your time and efforts.
__________________
hhannam is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 09:12 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Delaware
Posts: 108
OS: Windows XP Pro SP3

My System

Thumbs Up




To: JohnthePilot (3rd message)

Pardonnez-moi.....after I last replied to you, I proceeded to put a little more effort into my problem. I happened to notice there was also now a "Restore destop icon layout" option added to my right-click menu. When I clicked on it, VOILA!!, my previously changed sample icon jumped to it's "saved" position. So you not only have to save a layout, but restore it manually each time you boot.

So it works!!!!...not automatically, which would be optimal, but at least you've found a solution!!!!...bless your little heart..hah!

Thanx again!!!!!
__________________
hhannam is offline  
Old 04-09-2007, 03:17 AM   #7
Manager, TSF Articles
 
JohnthePilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Cheltenham, near Wales.
Posts: 35,403
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1

My System

Send a message via MSN to JohnthePilot

Well, that's still only half an answer and I haven't got the other half. If I come across anything else I'll let you know. In the meantime, someone else may have a better idea.

Regards,
John.
__________________



Cenedl heb iaith, cenedl heb galon

JohnthePilot is offline  
Old 04-09-2007, 07:18 AM   #8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,088
OS: XP Pro



Quote:
In the meantime, someone else may have a better idea.
I'd rather just wait around & watch, just in case you get kissed . . .


__________________
Girderman is offline  
Old 04-09-2007, 09:10 AM   #9
Manager, TSF Articles
 
JohnthePilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Cheltenham, near Wales.
Posts: 35,403
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1

My System

Send a message via MSN to JohnthePilot

Quote:
Originally Posted by Girderman View Post
I'd rather just wait around & watch, just in case you get kissed . . .


Voyeur
Haven't you got anything else better to do?

@hhannam
See what we have to put up with?

__________________



Cenedl heb iaith, cenedl heb galon

JohnthePilot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virus affecting my system to download security updates?
I recently downloaded many spyware and viruses by PURE accident because I was at the wrong place at the wrong time in July 2006. After that, I am not able to download any Security Updates for my computer that dates back to around July. (The strange part is, IT'S ONLY SECURITY UPDATES and nothing...
vanishinghopes Inactive Malware Help Topics 27 11-11-2006 01:41 PM
My Hijack files...what a mess!
My AOL Spycatcher found "Trojan.win32.dialer.hc" and deleted it. I came on here to read about it and make sure it was all gone and when I went to, per your instructions: HKEY_CURRENT_USER/Software/Microsoft/Windows/Current Version/Internet Settings/Zone Map/Domains" all kinds of garbage folders...
Fieldmouse Inactive Malware Help Topics 63 09-25-2006 08:33 PM
SPYware and dumb stuff screwing me up
ok here is the deal! SOme how i downloaded somting bad. this is what is wrong: 1. I have a little flashing symbol on the bottom left of my computer and it says i "critical system error" or "system Error" but its not a "real" windows thing. its a pain. if i click it it takes me to...
haschen Resolved HJT Threads 20 05-18-2006 05:27 PM
Fake pop-up your computer might be at risk and windows security center pop-up
i dont know what to do I tried to remove that 2 popups wiht norton antivirus, AVG, spybot, addware lavasoft, avast antivirus, microsoft spyware remove, sypsweeper, pestpatrol and nothing. My machine crash eventually when i connect to internet is slow and explorer sometimes give me and error...
field3d Resolved HJT Threads 29 07-14-2005 11:26 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:43 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts