Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Computer won't boot, gets stuck on blue windows xp logo screen

This is a discussion on Computer won't boot, gets stuck on blue windows xp logo screen within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-14-2008, 11:21 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 13
OS: Win Vista64bit SP2



I was having problems with my Live messenger and tried out these suggestions:

1. Download and install SubInACL by clicking the link here. Click on Download and Run to install the application. Choose the default path where the application will be installed (C:\Program Files\Windows Resource Kits\Tools\) . Click “Install Now” to proceed with installation.
2. Copy the attached file into the C:\Program Files\Windows Resource Kits\Tools\ folder
3. Rename the file as reset.bat
4. Click on Start and RUN and type in CMD to open the command prompt window
5. Type in the following commands hitting ENTER after each

CD\
CD C:\Program files\Windows Resource Kits\Tools\
RESET

6. You will see a bunch of things happening in the command window. When the process is complete you will see the cursor back at the prompt C:\Program Files\Windows Resource Kits\Tools\ in the command window. Type EXIT and hit Enter to close the command window.
7. Reboot the machine and try the next command
8. Click on START and RUN and type in
REGSVR32 %windir%\system32\msxml3.dll
and hit Enter
9. If it succeeds try to sign into Windows Live Messenger again. You can get Windows Live Messenger from http://get.live.com/messenger/overview

The command file I used called reset.bat contained:

subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE /grant=administrators=f
subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_CURRENT_USER /grant=administrators=f
subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT /grant=administrators=f
subinacl /subdirectories %SystemDrive% /grant=administrators=f

subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE /grant=system=f
subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_CURRENT_USER /grant=system=f
subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT /grant=system=f
subinacl /subdirectories %SystemDrive% /grant=system=f

Now whenever I boot my pc it gets stuck on the windows xp logo splash screen. I was only changing permissions but now I cannot do anything on there.
The same thing happens when I boot in safe mode and from last know good configuration.

Does anyone have any ideas on how to fix this?

Thanks,
Tom

__________________
Tom1122 is offline  
Old 05-14-2008, 12:24 PM   #2
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



do a system restore to before you made the changes

__________________
dai is offline  
Old 05-17-2008, 04:08 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 13
OS: Win Vista64bit SP2



Will this lose any personal data?
__________________
Tom1122 is offline  
Old 05-17-2008, 05:24 AM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Banja Luka, Serb Republic
Posts: 4,608
OS: xp pro sp3, 7 Ultimate 64-bit, Server 2003, Server 2008, VMware vCenter Server

My System

Send a message via MSN to vladimirb Send a message via Yahoo to vladimirb Send a message via Skype™ to vladimirb

Go to safe mode and uninstall that application. restart PC and see what will happen.
__________________
vladimirb is offline  
Old 05-17-2008, 04:30 PM   #5
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



when you do a restore you have to reinstall anything you installed after the restore date
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 01:15 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 13
OS: Win Vista64bit SP2



I do not have a system restore point set so I can't do it. Safe mode dosn't work either. Is there anyway of doing a registery check?
__________________
Tom1122 is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 01:35 PM   #7
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



tap f8 when booting and
last known good configuration
this loads the last good registry
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 01:42 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 13
OS: Win Vista64bit SP2



I tried it and it still got stuck at the same point. I can't see what reset.bat would have done to cause this.
__________________
Tom1122 is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 01:48 PM   #9
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



run
chkdsk /r
if no good
a repair install looks like the quickest option
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 01:50 PM   #10
BEEN THERE, DONE THAT
 
michaeldrivas1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 1,238
OS: win xp/vista



Run a sfc / scannow and see if that helps. Press start, and then run
Enter sfc / scannow and make sure to have your windows disk ready to insert. Sit back and relax it could take about 45 mins. When’s its complete remove cd/dvd and reboot.
__________________
michaeldrivas1 is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 01:57 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 13
OS: Win Vista64bit SP2



chkdsk says it fixes all errors, I've already tried a repair install and it said it couldn't find some files like migregdb ex_ even when I can see it on the disc which was a bit odd. Also chkdsk says it fixes these errors each time I run it which tells me they're not actually being fixed.

Also Michael, I can't boot so I can't try out your suggestion.

Thanks for the replys so far guys.

Any more suggestions?
__________________
Tom1122 is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 02:00 PM   #12
BEEN THERE, DONE THAT
 
michaeldrivas1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 1,238
OS: win xp/vista



Sorry tom I missed that part.... have you tried to clear the cmos yet? Remove the battery from the mother board or if you’re familiar with you board and it has jumpers to clear it do it that way....
__________________
michaeldrivas1 is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 02:06 PM   #13
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



does your xp disk include sp2
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 02:08 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 13
OS: Win Vista64bit SP2



Well interestingly it in BIOS it came up with CMOS battery failure but I replaced it and it still has the problem. I ran a memtest and it said it was fine. Due to what I did before the problem I think it is a registry problem but I cannot find a way to fix it.

Edit: Yeah, it does include SP2.
__________________
Tom1122 is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 02:10 PM   #15
BEEN THERE, DONE THAT
 
michaeldrivas1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 1,238
OS: win xp/vista



There’s still hope.... Do you have the owner’s manual to the board? If so find the jumper that clears the cmos. If you don't do you know what board you have I'll get the info for you. Also can you at least get in to the bios settings? if so reset bios to default. Tip if you have no A drive make sure to turn that off in your bios.
__________________
michaeldrivas1 is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 02:13 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 13
OS: Win Vista64bit SP2



Ok, did that but still the same problem. I've got to learn to back up.
__________________
Tom1122 is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 02:15 PM   #17
BEEN THERE, DONE THAT
 
michaeldrivas1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 1,238
OS: win xp/vista



Also can you at least get into the bios settings? if so reset bios to default. Tip if you have no A drive make sure to turn that off in your bios.
__________________
michaeldrivas1 is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 02:21 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 13
OS: Win Vista64bit SP2



Thanks for the suggestions but still no dice. Is there no way to reset the registery?
__________________
Tom1122 is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 02:22 PM   #19
BEEN THERE, DONE THAT
 
michaeldrivas1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 1,238
OS: win xp/vista



Tom if no help comes from here your still ok as far as your files go... They are all where you left them.... Is your hard drive partitioned? If so you could always reinstall XP and not loose a thing, even if it's not partitioned you can still reinstall and make sure to select keep files.... Do not format C: once complete all you files will be there however the catch to that is you will not be able to run most of them but pictures, docs, downloads will be there.


Just wanted to clarify; Xp will have all it needs to run just like the day you bought it, however software that was installed after the fact most likely will not. You might also find you need to reinstall some drivers.
__________________
michaeldrivas1 is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 02:23 PM   #20
BEEN THERE, DONE THAT
 
michaeldrivas1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 1,238
OS: win xp/vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom1122 View Post
Thanks for the suggestions but still no dice. Is there no way to reset the registery?
you could try putting in your Xp disk and try a repair however it will ask you for a password...

__________________
michaeldrivas1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:27 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts