Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Computer will not detect video card

This is a discussion on Computer will not detect video card within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. System Properties/Device Manager/Display Adapters/Nvidia GForce 9500 GT/Windows successfully loaded the device driver for this hardware but cannot find the hardware

Closed Thread

Old 03-22-2011, 01:26 PM   #1
Registered Member

System Properties/Device Manager/Display Adapters/Nvidia GForce 9500 GT/Windows successfully loaded the device driver for this hardware but cannot find the hardware device. (Code 41)

I have been using the above video card successfully since 2009. I booted this box a couple of days ago to a different video resolution and a partially covered monitor screen.

I'm not aware of any changes that have been made to any settings or any added or deleted hardware changes.

I'm using XP Home, SP3, P4, 3.20MHz, 2GB ram. Anh help would be appreciated

Old 03-22-2011, 01:35 PM   #2
Registered Member

From Explanation of error codes generated by Device Manager in Windows XP Professional
Quote:
Make sure that Device Manager is open, and that the device that has the problem is selected. You can perform some recommended resolutions through Device Manager.
Right-click My Computer, and then click Properties.
Select the Hardware tab, and then click Device Manager.
Double-click the device type that has the problem. For example, if you have problems with your modem, double-click Modems to see the devices in that category.

A list of devices appears. If a device has problems, the device has a red exclamation point next to it. If a device is unknown (usually because of missing drivers), the device has a yellow question mark next to it.
Right-click the device that has the problem, and then click Properties. This opens the device Properties dialog box. You can see the error code in the Device status area of this dialog box.