Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Computer Shuts Off Unexpectedly

6K views 5 replies 3 participants last post by  mike2020learnin 
#1 ·
Hello,

I am having a problem with my computer shutting down randomly. I am an engineering student and I run CAD programs on my computer and it irritates me to no end when I am in the middle of working on something and it just shuts off. I talked to someone else about my problem and they said that the CPU is trying to pull too much power from the power supply and so it thinks that it is shorting out, so it shuts off. The only time that it ever shuts off on me is when I am using SolidWorks (CAD program). I keep my Task Manager window open so I can watch and see what it is doing before it shuts off and the CPU is running from 85-100% with only 990Mb of memory used. My computer is about a year old. It is a HP Pavilion dv4000 notebook and has a 1.6 Pentium M and 2Gb of RAM. I don't know what could be wrong. What can I do to fix this?

I plan on upgrading to a new computer hopefully this summer, but until then i need to fix this if possible. Aside from my problem of having to do all of my schoolwork more than 2 or 3 times, who would you recommend me buy a new computer from? I was thinking Dell or Sony... What do you think?

Thank you!

#2 ·
hello & welcome to TSF,

first of all i need you to do this,

now what i need to do is go to your (device manager)

now once there you will want to select from the toolbar of the window(veiw) then a drop down menu / from it you will select (show all hidden devices)

now if you see any (red or yellow) quotation marks , make a note of what they

now go to the (event veiwer) this is thru the (administrator tools) in the control panel
here you will find 3 to 4 subcatagories

you will want to check each of them for this is where windows keeps track of all errors