Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Command Prompt Doesn't work?

This is a discussion on Command Prompt Doesn't work? within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello all. I've recently tried to work my command prompt and it will not work. I have no idea why


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-01-2007, 02:01 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5
OS: XP



Hello all.

I've recently tried to work my command prompt and it will not work. I have no idea why but it just won't. When I use Run, and type 'cmd', and then come onto prompt, it doesn't work and gives me the message:
Quote:
C:\Documents and Settings\Name>nslookup
'nslookup' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.
Thanks for any help.

__________________
Dannyboy2k7 is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 02:11 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
kinbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,459
OS: Experimenter



I had a similar situation a long time ago, and was only able to repair by doing a non-destructive recovery. Like to find out what others know about this as well...

__________________
Half viking, half pirate, stronger than both
XP Repair
Malware Removal
Vista Repair
Downgrade Vista
kinbard is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 02:15 PM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
carsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hunwick, Co. Durham England
Posts: 10,726
OS: XP Pro SP3

My System

Send a message via MSN to carsey

Try C:\Windows\system32\cmd.exe

Hopefully a direct link will solve it.
__________________

carsey is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 02:25 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5
OS: XP



I think it worked. Thank you very much.
__________________
Dannyboy2k7 is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 02:26 PM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
carsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hunwick, Co. Durham England
Posts: 10,726
OS: XP Pro SP3

My System

Send a message via MSN to carsey

no problem. If any further problems persist, dont hesitate to post them up for us.
__________________

carsey is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 02:27 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
kinbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,459
OS: Experimenter



Carsey, do you know what might be causing this problem?

__________________
Half viking, half pirate, stronger than both
XP Repair
Malware Removal
Vista Repair
Downgrade Vista
kinbard is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell PRO1X dock. station-USBs don't work
When I dock my Dell Inspiron 8600 the USB ports do not work. I found a un update on Dell's support site. Downloaded it (R96945) and they still don't work. The USB ports on the laptop work fine when not docked. I actually bought another/second docking station thinking that maybe it was the USB...
imafifer Laptop Support 3 02-05-2006 12:15 PM
New drive on raid connector doesn't work
I had a 40gb disk running on MSI KT266 pro ru. It has been connected to one of the raid channels (IDE3) and was running fine. Of course being only one HDD it is not really raid but Promise sees it as raid. I used to be able to install xp normally. I recently bought an Barracuda 160gb HDD and I...
gultekin Hard Drive Support 2 03-10-2005 04:27 AM
P4P800-E Deluxe extra USB headers dont work
I cant get the extra USB connectors on my P4P800-E Deluxe board to work. I first tried connecting my chassis front panel USB cables to the first header(USB56) according to the instructions in the manual (resulting in the following configuration, from left to right, bottom row: VCC 5 red, DATA1-...
Wiley_vP Motherboards, Bios & CPU 9 10-23-2004 07:36 AM
DOS programs won't work anymore!
I hope someone here can help me with the following problem. All of a sudden certain dos programs that I've used in Windows XP before (without any trouble) won't work anymore. If I try to execute these dos programs the screen just flashes briefly and I'm right back at my desktop. I haven't...
slave1 Windows XP Support 0 09-22-2004 01:54 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:04 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts