Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

cmd.exe opens at startup?

This is a discussion on cmd.exe opens at startup? within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Folks, Suddenly I'm seeing the cmd.exe window open every time I startup. I checked the Startup list in msconfig and


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-31-2006, 04:17 AM   #1
Vetustior Humo
 
yustr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Soon to be Waterfront
Posts: 10,669
OS: Win 7 - PCLinuxOS



Folks,

Suddenly I'm seeing the cmd.exe window open every time I startup. I checked the Startup list in msconfig and I don't see anything that leads me to think it's being called for there.

Here's what's checked:

Mouse32A
KAHLMNPR (???)
ccApp
Apoint
NvCpl
VPtray
dumprep 0-k (???)
Logi_MwX
hpztsb04
Tea Timer

System is checked w/ multiple Spy/Ad ware programs.

It's not really a big deal. I just close it. But was wondering why is appears each time?

Thanks

__________________
"Climate Change is a moral issue because the rich world has disproportionately contributed to it and the poor world is disproportionately suffering," Church of England
yustr is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 07:07 AM   #2
Registered User
 
oshwyn5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dallas , Tx
Posts: 1,433
OS: DOS,Win95,98,ME,XP, Fedora


KAHLMNPR has no google hits.
For this reason I reccomend you follow the five steps to malware removal in my sig.


Go to Control panel => system => advanced=> error reporting
Click disable error reporting

dumprep 0-k
Go to Control panel => system => advanced=>Startup and recovery => set write debugging info to none

Please look in start => programs => startup and see if cmd.exe is listed.

But I think it is probably a trojan.

__________________
Hello and Welcome to TSF My name is Pete but call me Oshwyn
[bIf we have been of assistance please consider
Donating to TSF to keep the forum running.
oshwyn5 is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 02:51 PM   #3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,917
OS: XP


greetings

you prefer not to update to sp2?

post a log
__________________
whodat is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 04:46 PM   #4
elf
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
elf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Knoxville, TN or Austin, TX depending
Posts: 7,196
OS: WinXP Pro SP3 and Windows 7

My System

Send a message via AIM to elf
I would be willing to bet it's

dumprep 0-k (???)
__________________

If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!
I do not subscribe to threads, so if I stop replying, PM me with a link to your thread so I can find it again.
elf is offline  
Old 04-01-2006, 06:44 AM   #5
Vetustior Humo
 
yustr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Soon to be Waterfront
Posts: 10,669
OS: Win 7 - PCLinuxOS


Thanks guys, I'll post a log when i'm back in the office on Monday.

I don't know why my Co. doesn't want me to up grade to SP2 (????) Maybe I missed the memo. I'll check with the IT Dept. on Monday too...

All was clean with the multiple malware/virus/ad-ware scans...

If it's any clue, when the cmd box opens I get the black window but I can't type in it. There's not any prompt. Just a blank black box...
__________________
"Climate Change is a moral issue because the rich world has disproportionately contributed to it and the poor world is disproportionately suffering," Church of England
yustr is offline  
Old 04-01-2006, 07:39 AM   #6
elf
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
elf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Knoxville, TN or Austin, TX depending
Posts: 7,196
OS: WinXP Pro SP3 and Windows 7

My System

Send a message via AIM to elf
Does it close by itself after a few seconds? If so, it may be a script set by your IT department.
__________________

If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!
I do not subscribe to threads, so if I stop replying, PM me with a link to your thread so I can find it again.
elf is offline  
Old 04-01-2006, 11:15 AM   #7
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 21,400
OS: Win7-64

My System

KHALMNPR is safe and shouldn't bring up a command window. It's part of SetPoint for Logitech mice, and controls mouse sensitvity.
__________________
koala is offline  
Old 04-01-2006, 11:57 AM   #8
elf
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
elf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Knoxville, TN or Austin, TX depending
Posts: 7,196
OS: WinXP Pro SP3 and Windows 7

My System

Send a message via AIM to elf
Quote:
Originally Posted by koala
KHALMNPR is safe and shouldn't bring up a command window. It's part of SetPoint for Logitech mice, and controls mouse sensitvity.
Thanks for this piece of info...that same thing was coming up on my roomates computer and we didn't know what it was for, and google turned up some non-helpful results, but that makes complete sense because he has a logitech mouse which can adjust sensitivity by the click of a button.
__________________

If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!
I do not subscribe to threads, so if I stop replying, PM me with a link to your thread so I can find it again.
elf is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 06:33 AM   #9
Vetustior Humo
 
yustr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Soon to be Waterfront
Posts: 10,669
OS: Win 7 - PCLinuxOS


Back at the office and guess what? I can't say how but it's gone!

The only thing I can figure is that it was either a remnant in my network log in script and was removed by the IT staff over the weekend or it went away when I did a general clean up of the laptop - cleaned old history files (realplayer, Itunes, etc), cookies (I do this regularly so probably not), tmp files, .xml files , etc...Maybe it was lurking somewhere in there.

The dumprep 0-k is still checked. (What is that?)

Anyway it's gone...

__________________
"Climate Change is a moral issue because the rich world has disproportionately contributed to it and the poor world is disproportionately suffering," Church of England
yustr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts