Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Changing keyboard layout in XP

This is a discussion on Changing keyboard layout in XP within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Is it possible to change the keyboard layout without re-installing? By mistake I selected US international when setting up Windows


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-21-2005, 04:25 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belfast, N. Ireland
Posts: 178
OS: Windows XP


Send a message via AIM to Derek895

Is it possible to change the keyboard layout without re-installing? By mistake I selected US international when setting up Windows XP. I would like to change it to UK / British. Is there a way to do this?

Thanks

Derek

__________________
Derek895 is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 05:28 PM   #2
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


control panel/keyboard

__________________
dai is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 05:40 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belfast, N. Ireland
Posts: 178
OS: Windows XP


Send a message via AIM to Derek895
I tried that and regional settings but there isn't anything there to change keyboard layout.
__________________
Derek895 is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 05:57 PM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


i just checked mine and it is gone i used to use it when i had a logitech k/b but the ms one seems to have taken over
in the regional settings i just used the customise box to change from us to aust english and a number of icons popped into the tray at the bottom and when you click on the options down arrow head you will find it
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 08:06 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belfast, N. Ireland
Posts: 178
OS: Windows XP


Send a message via AIM to Derek895
Thanks for that.
__________________
Derek895 is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 08:39 PM   #6
Mush
 
uripyores's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Durham UK
Posts: 724
OS: XP Home/Pro [SP3]


Go to Control panel/regional and language options/ and from there you can get your @ back in the place you want it. [You click on the arrow on the end of the box and choose your country and it will automaticall change the keyboard set up.] EDIT; oops, I misread that last one from Dai
__________________
uripyores is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 07:07 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belfast, N. Ireland
Posts: 178
OS: Windows XP


Send a message via AIM to Derek895
Cheers, and I also dscovered I can switch layouts by pressing left alt & shift together, useful that.

__________________
Derek895 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:34 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts