Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Can't play CNN videos

This is a discussion on Can't play CNN videos within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-07-2008, 04:36 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: DC
Posts: 6
OS: xp


Cry

My PC is split in two user accounts. This problem only occurs in my side; my wife’s side does not have this problem.

I noticed just a few days ago that I couldn’t watch the videos from CNN. I upgraded my player to WMP 11 but it made no difference. I can watch the CNN live video, but not the canned CNN video. When I first noticed the problem there was an exclamation point inside a small triangle and an “error on page” message showing in the bottom left corner of my screen.

I use Microsoft XP 2000, SP3.

Any suggestions.

__________________
antonio714 is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 08:15 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
ThorXP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,568
OS: Windows XP Pro SP3, Kubuntu & Ubuntu 8.10



Welcome to TSF....

There appears to be a turner media player plug-in to download and install try here for it:

http://i.cdn.turner.com/cnn/services...setup_3.1f.exe

__________________
I was always taught to respect my elders, but it keeps getting harder to find one.
Heaven goes by favorites, If it didn't then your dog would get in first. Amen.
ThorXP is offline  
Old 11-08-2008, 05:32 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: DC
Posts: 6
OS: xp



ThorXP,
Thanks for the suggestion.
I installed the TBS WMP Plug-in, rebooted and tried but still I get the error message and the videos can't be played.
antonio714
__________________
antonio714 is offline  
Old 11-08-2008, 06:53 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
ThorXP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,568
OS: Windows XP Pro SP3, Kubuntu & Ubuntu 8.10



Quote:
My PC is split in two user accounts. This problem only occurs in my side; my wife’s side does not have this problem.
On the two accounts by chance is yours a limited account ?
__________________
I was always taught to respect my elders, but it keeps getting harder to find one.
Heaven goes by favorites, If it didn't then your dog would get in first. Amen.
ThorXP is offline  
Old 11-08-2008, 07:42 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: DC
Posts: 6
OS: xp


Cry



We both are Computer Administrators.

One of the things I checked was whether or not my Advanced Internet Options (AIO) were different from hers. There was no difference, but in my AIO, under Security, I cannot check the box "Check for server certificate revocation" (that line is in a lighter color than the rest of the lines). Her AIO doesn't have that line checked, but in her side it can be checked in and off, but not in my side.

In my side there is an asterisk at the line "Check for server certificate revocation" and the asterisk states "Some settings are managed by your Systems Administrator" which, since I cannot change that particular setting, implies that I am not a Systems Administrator.

Could it be that I am a Computer Administrator, but not a Systems Administrator?

If there is a difference, and I am not a Systems Administrator I have no idea how I can become one.

When I looked at the Computer Properties, I noticed that it is registered to my wife, not to both. She is the one that bought the computer. She had a computer set up at home by her employer, which we could use for personal purposes. When she changed jobs her employer took the computer back and we had to buy one of our own. We transferred all the contents of the company computer to the one we had purchased (from Dell). It was registered under her name.

I am not a computer connoisseur, but my wife is less knowledgeable than me, and I am sure she had not changed any settings in the Advanced Internet Options.

I can install any software I want in my side; at work I cannot even change the clock settings in my office computer! The only restriction that I can see is that I cannot reset the "server cerificate revocation" box.
__________________
antonio714 is offline  
Old 11-08-2008, 07:55 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: DC
Posts: 6
OS: xp


Cry

We both are Computer Administrators.

One of the things I checked was whether or not my Advanced Internet Options (AIO) were different from hers. There was no difference, but in my AIO, under Security, I cannot check the box "Check for server certificate revocation" (that line is in a lighter color than the rest of the lines). Her AIO doesn't have that line checked, but in her side it can be checked in and off, but not in my side.

In my side there is an asterisk at the line "Check for server certificate revocation" and the asterisk states "Some settings are managed by your Systems Administrator" which, since I cannot change that particular setting, implies that I am not a Systems Administrator.

Could it be that I am a Computer Administrator, but not a Systems Administrator?

If there is a difference, and I am not a Systems Administrator I have no idea how I can become one.

When I looked at the Computer Properties, I noticed that it is registered to my wife, not to both. She is the one that bought the computer. She had a computer set up at home by her employer, which we could use for personal purposes. When she changed jobs her employer took the computer back and we had to buy one of our own. We transferred all the contents of the company computer to the one we had purchased (from Dell). It was registered under her name.

I am not a computer connoisseur, but my wife is less knowledgeable than me, and I am sure she had not changed any settings in the Advanced Internet Options.

I can install any software I want in my side; at work I cannot even change the clock settings in my office computer! The only restriction that I can see is that I cannot reset the "server cerificate revocation" box
__________________
antonio714 is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 02:34 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: DC
Posts: 6
OS: xp



Thanks to Dave I got the solution to my problem:

Try going to Tools, Internet Options, Security, Custom, Userdata persistenceand change it to Disable and restart IE7.
DaveCNN.com Technical Support
__________________
antonio714 is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 03:09 PM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
ThorXP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,568
OS: Windows XP Pro SP3, Kubuntu & Ubuntu 8.10



Sounds good but here is a quirk, Mine is set to active and I have the CNN Videos working just fine. If I disable it then I lose the CNN Videos from playing. This is weird but as long as it works it is fine. Tell Dave from CNN that we all thank him.
__________________
I was always taught to respect my elders, but it keeps getting harder to find one.
Heaven goes by favorites, If it didn't then your dog would get in first. Amen.
ThorXP is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 07:15 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: DC
Posts: 6
OS: xp



ThorXP,

You are right, my wife's side is set to active and the CNN Videos play fine in her side, and her main CNN.com page doesn't have an "error on page" message, but mine does, now.

I don't care about that error message, as least for now, because I can still read the CNN.com page and access every link in it without problems.

Who can understand computers?

I would let Dave know about this apparent contradiction.

Saludos,

antonio714
__________________
antonio714 is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 09:14 PM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
ThorXP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,568
OS: Windows XP Pro SP3, Kubuntu & Ubuntu 8.10



Very good and thank you
__________________
I was always taught to respect my elders, but it keeps getting harder to find one.
Heaven goes by favorites, If it didn't then your dog would get in first. Amen.
ThorXP is offline  
Old 05-22-2009, 11:49 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
OS: Windows XP


Thumbs Up

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonio714 View Post
Thanks to Dave I got the solution to my problem:

Try going to Tools, Internet Options, Security, Custom, Userdata persistenceand change it to Disable and restart IE7.
DaveCNN.com Technical Support
Would love to hug you so hard your eyeballs pop!!!! The skies have opened, the angels are singing, and you gave me the answer I have been seeking for over a week. I spent 5 hours online with an HP technician, uninstalled and reinstalled Flash Players, IE versions, and Windows Media Players until I wanted to upchuck!!!! Thank you so much. You are 'the man". Thank you, thank you, thank you.
__________________
shirleyone1 is offline  
Old 06-02-2009, 04:16 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
OS: Vista



Thanks for the post. It worked, so now I can play the CNN videos again.
__________________
HelpedToo is offline  
Old 07-09-2010, 02:15 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
OS: Windows XP



I found out that CNN changed the link. The new link is http://edition.cnn.com/video/
Videos work great now.

__________________
1California is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:47 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts