Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Can't find "SAFE MODE"

This is a discussion on Can't find "SAFE MODE" within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi Everyone, I came across this problem today. I wanted to boot into safe mode to check on a problem.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-10-2009, 03:11 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Scranton, Pa.
Posts: 11
OS: WindowsXP Pro SP3


Confused

Hi Everyone,

I came across this problem today.
I wanted to boot into safe mode to check on a problem.
Well, after rebooting and pressing F8 as I have always done in the past, I got a window asking me what drive I wanted to boot from (floppy, cd, hard drive, zip drive)
I have never seen this before.
I did notice that when I boot the computer now, when the first black screen comes up (where all the computer info is displayed) there is a line there that
says, "Press F8 for BBS Popup" and that is when the other "boot" window pops up.
Has anyone else come across this and how can I get into safe mode again?
Thanks for the help, Bucky

__________________
Bucky514 is offline  
Old 10-10-2009, 03:42 PM   #2
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 16,258
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


In the popup window, choose your HDD, as it starts to boot, continue to press the F8 key.

__________________

Google is your Friend!
JimE is offline  
Old 10-10-2009, 03:47 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Scranton, Pa.
Posts: 11
OS: WindowsXP Pro SP3



Thanks Dogg, but I tried that and everything else I could think of.

Bucky
__________________
Bucky514 is offline  
Old 10-10-2009, 03:48 PM   #4
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 16,258
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Depending on the brand of your computer, it may be a different F key
__________________

Google is your Friend!
JimE is offline  
Old 10-10-2009, 04:06 PM   #5
Administrator

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 46,886
OS: XP, Win 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Bucky514 View Post
Thanks Dogg, but I tried that and everything else I could think of.

Bucky
What happened when you choose the drive and kept tapping F8?
Old Rich is offline  
Old 10-10-2009, 05:18 PM   #6
Microsoft MVP
 
TheOutcaste's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,123
OS: MS-Dos 6.22 - Win7



Wait until after the Press F8 for BBS Popup disappears before you start pressing F8, or try F5.

I'm guessing this is an ASUS MB?
__________________
Microsoft MVP - Windows Expert - Consumer
Of course I know all the answers; I just don't always match the answers to the right questions.
Rated R for Violence -- When your PC flies through a window, that's violent, right?
TheOutcaste is offline  
Old 10-11-2009, 04:50 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Scranton, Pa.
Posts: 11
OS: WindowsXP Pro SP3



Good morning all,
OK... here's what I did so far.

Dogg,
I've tried every "F" key already.

simpswr.
It will boot right to Windows.

Outcast,
I've tried that with the F8 key.
F5 key will take me to safe mode options, BUT it freezes and won't let me choose any options. The up & down keys won't move the cursor.
The Motherboard brand? Sorry, I don't know.

Now, I did find this.
I went into setup on the reboot.
In the CMOS setup utility:
1st Boot Device --- Memorex DVD-R (Drive E:/)
2nd Boot Device --- My 320GB Hard drive (Drive C:/)
3rd Boot Device --- Atapi DVD-R (Drive F:/)

Could this make a difference?
Should Drive C:/ be the first boot device?

Thanks all,
Bucky
__________________
Bucky514 is offline  
Old 10-11-2009, 09:22 AM   #8
Microsoft MVP
 
TheOutcaste's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,123
OS: MS-Dos 6.22 - Win7



The boot order won't have any effect on this. With the current settings you can boot from a CD/DVD in drive E:, but not from drive F:. If you want to be able to use both DVD drives to boot with, you should move the C: drive to the 3rd Boot Device.

Let's do this, copy and paste the following code into Notepad. Save it on your desktop as AddSafeMode.cmd. Be sure to change the Save as type: box to All Files.
Double click the file, it will add a Safe Mode option to the boot menu (for the default entry if a dual boot).
Double click again to remove it.
It backs up the current boot.ini file to boot.TO~, so don't delete the boot.TO~ file or you won't be able to automatically remove the Safe Mode option. This assumes your Boot and System partitions are the same.If you dual boot with Win2K or another copy of XP, this may not work.

Code:
@Echo Off
SetLocal EnableDelayedExpansion
PushD %SystemDrive%
If NOT Exist boot.ini Echo Unable to locate the boot.ini file&Goto _End
Attrib -H -R -S boot.ini
If Exist boot.TO~ (
Attrib -H -R -S boot.TO~
Del Boot.ini
Ren boot.TO~ boot.ini>Nul
Echo Safe Mode option has been removed from the boot menu
Goto _End
) Else (
Copy boot.ini boot.TO~>Nul
Attrib +H +R +S boot.TO~
)
If Exist boot.tmp Del boot.tmp
For /F "Tokens=1,2 Delims==" %%I In (boot.ini) Do (
Set _line=%%I
If /I "%%I"=="default" Set _Def=%%I
If "!_line:~0,1!"=="[" (
>>boot.tmp Echo.%%I
) Else (
>>boot.tmp Echo.%%I=%%J
))
>>boot.tmp Echo.%_line%="Windows XP Safe Mode" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect /safeboot:minimal
Del boot.ini
Ren boot.tmp boot.ini
Echo Safe Mode option has been added to the boot menu
:_End
Attrib +H +R +S boot.ini>Nul
PopD
Pause
__________________
Microsoft MVP - Windows Expert - Consumer
Of course I know all the answers; I just don't always match the answers to the right questions.
Rated R for Violence -- When your PC flies through a window, that's violent, right?
TheOutcaste is offline  
Old 10-12-2009, 06:43 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Scranton, Pa.
Posts: 11
OS: WindowsXP Pro SP3



Hi Outcaste...

I did as you said.
It didn't work.
I attached a picture of the DOS window so that you can see what it said.

Bucky
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cmd.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	25.5 KB
ID:	58355  
__________________
Bucky514 is offline  
Old 10-12-2009, 07:37 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: La
Posts: 79
OS: vista


Send a message via Yahoo to trip1red

start ur pc keep hitting f8 key safe mode are safe mode with networking click Start, Run, and then type in msconfig and hit Enter) the system configuration utility box comes up.

You should see several tabs across the top. One of them, when selected, has, in the middle of the page, a box you can check that says "Safe Boot". . check that box, and then click Apply and Ok and it will prompt you to restart the computer. .

do this, and then it will boot up in Safe Mode. .

to change it back so that it no longer boots up in Safe Mode (when you have done what you wanted to do in Safe Mode) you have to go back into this same box to uncheck that box or it will continue to boot in Safe Mode.
__________________
trip1red is offline  
Old 10-12-2009, 07:42 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan, US
Posts: 50
OS: XP/Vista



trip1red - I think you need to read your googled answers a bit more deeply.
__________________
TheBrit is offline  
Old 10-13-2009, 07:31 AM   #12
Moderator Offline
 
Basementgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 11,742
OS: XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 64 bit



Never use the Safe Boot option. If there is a malware problems, you may never get out of it.

BG
__________________

ASAP member since 2006

Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.

Basementgeek is offline  
Old 10-13-2009, 10:47 AM   #13
Microsoft MVP
 
TheOutcaste's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,123
OS: MS-Dos 6.22 - Win7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Bucky514 View Post
Hi Outcaste...

I did as you said.
It didn't work.
I attached a picture of the DOS window so that you can see what it said.

Bucky
Opps, looks like I left out just one little backslash. But, you need to copy only the text inside the CODE box, not any other lines.
First line in Notepad should be @Echo Off, last line should be Pause. Looks like yours starts with same.If you dual boot with Win2K or another copy of XP, this may not work.

Code:


Edit the file so the first line is @Echo Off, then edit the third line and add a backslash:
PushD %SystemDrive%
so it reads like
PushD %SystemDrive%\

And Basementgeek is 100% correct, don't use the msconfig option. If the system can't boot into safe mode, you have no way to get back to normal mode without using a live CD or the Recovery Console to edit the boot.ini file.
__________________
Microsoft MVP - Windows Expert - Consumer
Of course I know all the answers; I just don't always match the answers to the right questions.
Rated R for Violence -- When your PC flies through a window, that's violent, right?
TheOutcaste is offline  
Old 10-14-2009, 08:46 AM   #14
Microsoft MVP
 
TheOutcaste's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,123
OS: MS-Dos 6.22 - Win7



Argh, found a couple more typos, this cold is really messing with me.
The above will modify the last entry instead of the default. Won't hurt anything, but may not work as desired.

This should have all the little bugs out, and properly adds a safe mode option to the default entry:
Code:
@Echo Off
SetLocal EnableDelayedExpansion
PushD %SystemDrive%\
If NOT Exist boot.ini Echo Unable to locate the boot.ini file&Goto _End
Attrib -H -R -S boot.ini
If Exist boot.TO~ (
Attrib -H -R -S boot.TO~
Del Boot.ini
Ren boot.TO~ boot.ini>Nul
Echo Safe Mode option has been removed from the boot menu
Goto _End
) Else (
Copy boot.ini boot.TO~>Nul
Attrib +H +R +S boot.TO~
)
If Exist boot.tmp Del boot.tmp
For /F "Tokens=1,2 Delims==" %%I In (boot.ini) Do (
Set _line=%%I
If /I "%%I"=="default" Set _Def=%%J
If "!_line:~0,1!"=="[" (
>>boot.tmp Echo.%%I
) Else (
>>boot.tmp Echo.%%I=%%J
))
>>boot.tmp Echo.%_Def%="Windows XP Safe Mode" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect /safeboot:minimal
Del boot.ini
Ren boot.tmp boot.ini
Echo Safe Mode option has been added to the boot menu
:_End
Attrib +H +R +S boot.ini>Nul
PopD
Pause
__________________
Microsoft MVP - Windows Expert - Consumer
Of course I know all the answers; I just don't always match the answers to the right questions.
Rated R for Violence -- When your PC flies through a window, that's violent, right?
TheOutcaste is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 02:38 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Scranton, Pa.
Posts: 11
OS: WindowsXP Pro SP3



Hi Outcaste,

I think we're getting closer.
I edited as you said and installed it.

Now, when I press F8 at boot-up, it takes me to the boot screen.
From there I press OK at booting from my hard-drive and then press F8 again.
This now takes me to the safe mode screen.
Now I have 2 choices.
Start Windows XP Pro
or
Start XP Pro safe mode
Now the problem...
Use up-down keys to change between choices.
It will not change between the 2
Windows XP Pro stays highlighted and Windows starts after about 10 seconds.
Thanks again for all your help.
Bucky
__________________
Bucky514 is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 02:50 PM   #16
Microsoft MVP
 
TheOutcaste's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,123
OS: MS-Dos 6.22 - Win7



You should get the menu without having to press anything. But it sounds like the system is ignoring the keyboard, which is why F8 doesn't work after you get past the "BBS Popup" Boot Menu.
Is this a PS/2 or USB Keyboard? If the system has a PS/2 keyboard port I'd first try a PS/2 keyboard.
If not, check the BIOS to make sure Legacy USB support is enabled.
The screen should tell you what key to press to get into the BIOS (May say Setup), DEL and F2 are common.

Do you have a floppy drive? We can make a startup floppy that will boot to safe mode only. I don't want to make Safe Mode the Default in the boot.ini file on the hard drive, cause if the system won't boot into safe mode, you're in the same situation as using msconfig, no way to get back to normal. With the floppy, you just remove it.
__________________
Microsoft MVP - Windows Expert - Consumer
Of course I know all the answers; I just don't always match the answers to the right questions.
Rated R for Violence -- When your PC flies through a window, that's violent, right?
TheOutcaste is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 03:35 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Scranton, Pa.
Posts: 11
OS: WindowsXP Pro SP3



I'm sorry Outcaste...
I found something else.
When I start the computer, it goes through the first info screen, then goes to the safe mode screen automatically.
From there I have to wait 28 seconds for windows to start because I can't switch to safe mode or get out of the screen.
I am using a wireless keyboard and mouse. I have been using them for over a year now without any problems at all.
Can this be reversed so I don't have to sit and wait 28 seconds + for my computer to start?

Bucky
__________________
Bucky514 is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 03:45 PM   #18
Microsoft MVP
 
TheOutcaste's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,123
OS: MS-Dos 6.22 - Win7



You might need to go back to a wired keyboard for Windows to be able to see it at that part of the boot cycle.

Just double click the batch file again to remove the Safe Mode entry.

You can then change the default timeout from 30 seconds to something shorter, like 3-7 seconds from here:
Right click My Computer, click Properties
Click the Advanced tab
Under Startup and Recovery, click the Settings button.
There are two boxes that control the time, set them as desired.
OK back to the Desktop
You can then add the Safe Mode option by running the batch file again, and it will use the new times.

__________________
Microsoft MVP - Windows Expert - Consumer
Of course I know all the answers; I just don't always match the answers to the right questions.
Rated R for Violence -- When your PC flies through a window, that's violent, right?
TheOutcaste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:30 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts