Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

can't change screen resolution without restart

This is a discussion on can't change screen resolution without restart within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. ...which means I can't play games anymore (or at least games I can't run windowed). Which REALLY sucks. This issue


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-17-2008, 10:30 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
OS: XP SP3



...which means I can't play games anymore (or at least games I can't run windowed). Which REALLY sucks.

This issue started when I installed PC-cillin antivirus in december. I contacted their tech support, they swear it's not them and they have nothing to do with screen resolution.

I know it is them, though, because if I go into msconfig and disable their services on startup, it works, but if they are enabled and nothing else is, it doesn't. If I disable their program after startup, though, I still can't.

I initially tried rolling back and updating my graphics drivers, so I know it isn't them.

sooo...I'm here asking you guys where the heck the setting is for making you restart and how I can force it back to normal :P

__________________
fett51 is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 01:00 PM   #2
TSF Team Emeritus
Moderator, Microsoft Support
 
justpassingby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 6,472
OS: XP Home SP3 / Ubuntu / Win 7

My System


Hi fett51 and welcome to TSF !

Go to the display properties (right-click an unused place on the desktop and click properties) => settings => advanced. In the general tab check your compatibility settings.

__________________
Malware removal steps. Post your logs there and not here !
Posting system specs
justpassingby is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 01:06 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
OS: XP SP3



hey, thanks for the reply.

it's set to "apply the new display settings without restarting."

I tried switching it to ask for the heck of it and it still gave the same message.
__________________
fett51 is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 03:27 PM   #4
TSF Team Emeritus
Moderator, Microsoft Support
 
justpassingby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 6,472
OS: XP Home SP3 / Ubuntu / Win 7

My System


I searched for the corresponding registry entry on the internet but couldn't find it. A work-around would be to install another antivirus instead of PC-cillin. Try AVG, avast or antivir for instance.
__________________
Malware removal steps. Post your logs there and not here !
Posting system specs
justpassingby is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts