Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

cant boot to safe mode

SOLVED 
3K views 35 replies 3 participants last post by  spunk.funk 
#1 ·

I have tried everything after I f8 and nothing gets me to windows safe mode. I can get to command prompt safe mode, I don't know how to get to win xp safe mode. I installed a program yesterday and now a white screen with submit payment at the bottom right of the page is the only thing visible. I tried to ctrl alt del and cant get there. Nothing works has to unplug to restart.:facepalm:

#2 ·
I installed a program yesterday and now a white screen with submit payment at the bottom right of the page is the only thing visible.
You have installed a Virus. Do you have a Windows XP CD? You may need to reinstall.
First click on the link in my signature for Virus/Malware Help and post in that section of the forum to see if they can help you.

#5 ·
#13 ·
I'm a novice and I'm sorry to be such a pest. But now that I have downloaded to the usb memory stick. when I take this to the infected computer and turn on the computer will the download take over or do I have to do something before I place the memory stick in the computer?

#14 ·
Please follow the instructions for creating a bootable USB drive with Ubuntu from the link that was within the link in post #7 or here: UNetbootin - Homepage and Downloads You need download and save the ISO image of Ubuntu to your desktop, then download and install UNetbootin to make the USB Flash drive

#15 ·
From the Ubuntu link in post#7:
Now that you have Ubuntu burned onto a CD or a bootable thumb drive, load the CD or plug in your USB thumb drive. Be sure to enable your CD ROM or USB thumb drive to be the first boot order.
If you're not sure what this means, the computer can boot from various devices. It's usually the hard drive where Windows is stored, but for your situation you need to change the setting in BIOS so the computer boots from the new Ubuntu USB stick.