Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

C:\Program Files\TeamViewer\Version6\TeamViewer.exe

This is a discussion on C:\Program Files\TeamViewer\Version6\TeamViewer.exe within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I want this program, TeamViewer to start automatically when opening Windows- "C:\Program Files\TeamViewer\Version6\TeamViewer.exe" Which startup folder should the TeanViwer short


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-24-2011, 03:48 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,206
OS: Windows XP Pack 2



I want this program, TeamViewer to start automatically when opening Windows-
"C:\Program Files\TeamViewer\Version6\TeamViewer.exe"


Which startup folder should the TeanViwer short cut icon be in for automatic startup in Windows Xp? -

C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Start Menu\Programs\Startup
C:\Documents and Settings\userme\Start Menu\Programs\Startup

or both ?


I am using userme .

Thanks.

__________________
zhong is online now  
Old 03-24-2011, 05:16 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 28
OS: xp



I dont have it on my PC at the moment, but im sure I remember teamviewer having an option within its own menu of 'run at start up' or something of the like.

Pretty sure it is there as i know i was looking to having it run at start up at some point.

gl

__________________
rossdisco is offline  
Old 03-24-2011, 05:26 PM   #3
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,209
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi here is a manual http://www.teamviewer.com/download/t...wer_manual.pdf
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 03-26-2011, 07:27 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,206
OS: Windows XP Pack 2



Teamviewer works but only if I use a program like gotomypc to disable or turn off Teanviewer
in the system tray and to open it again in order for it to work at startup.
Each time somebody turns on the remote laptop.
So I think Teamviewer is not properly opening or enabled or frozen each time at startup that is why not working.

Thanks.
__________________
zhong is online now  
Old 03-26-2011, 01:00 PM   #5
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
- Networking
 
Fred Garvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 3,472
OS: XP Pro



If Teamviewer is installed, double click the icon to bring up the program. On the menu click Extras then Options. There is a check box to start Teamviewer when Windos starts. Under the Security heading, you can set options to allow you to log into Windows.
__________________

Fred Garvin is offline  
Old 03-26-2011, 06:02 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,206
OS: Windows XP Pack 2



In msconfig I have 2 starting up.

One in "common startup" and one just says "startup" which it says location.
Both boxes are ticked.

Which one should I cancel/untick ?

Thanks





Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred Garvin View Post
If Teamviewer is installed, double click the icon to bring up the program. On the menu click Extras then Options. There is a check box to start Teamviewer when Windos starts. Under the Security heading, you can set options to allow you to log into Windows.
__________________
zhong is online now  
Old 03-26-2011, 07:43 PM   #7
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
- Networking
 
Fred Garvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 3,472
OS: XP Pro



Leave MSconfig alone, there's no reason to go in there.
__________________

Fred Garvin is offline  
Old 03-27-2011, 08:20 AM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,206
OS: Windows XP Pack 2



There are 2 Teamviewers shown in msconfig starting up. Is that normal ?

Isn't it good if you wish to disable one of them if they both starting at the same time when
you startup Windows.?

I feel this maybe my problem I can't login to remote even though Teamviewer is on system tray. I know this case- I use gotomypc to login and close Teamviewer and open it again, then it starts working.

I use MSconfig all the time to disable stuff which I don't won't starting up.


Thanks.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred Garvin View Post
Leave MSconfig alone, there's no reason to go in there.
__________________
zhong is online now  
Old 03-27-2011, 06:03 PM   #9
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
- Networking
 
Fred Garvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 3,472
OS: XP Pro



Quote:
Originally Posted by zhong View Post
There are 2 Teamviewers shown in msconfig starting up. Is that normal ?
No, it's not normal. My guess is you're messing around and putting the Teamviewer.exe file in your Startup folder where it does not belong. Teamviewer runs as a Windows Service and needs no modification to work correctly, other than the instructions I gave you above.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zhong View Post
I use MSconfig all the time to disable stuff which I don't won't starting up. Thanks.
Msconfig is for troubleshooting. It's not meant for selectively choosing which programs you want to run at startup. If you don't want a program to run at startup, configure the program's settings to stop it from running automatically, or manually remove it in the registry.

__________________

Fred Garvin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blue Screen, also a Google Redirect Problem
Hello, Thanks for the help in advance. My main problem is that I am unable to complete the GMER scan before the blue screen restarts the computer, even in safe mode. I started having signs of viruses and malware two days ago, and I believe I got rid of some of them, but some problems persist. I...
blpeters09 Resolved HJT Threads 14 04-02-2011 10:41 PM
Infected with a Virus!
Hello! I have recently been getting this fake AntiVirus Software pop-up every time I start up my computer. It pretends to scan my computer and get the full version and stuff like that. Very irritating. Please guide me to the next steps in order to remove this problem! Please and thank you! ...
SkylightClouds Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 23 02-16-2011 04:17 PM
[SOLVED] VCExpress Problem, Probably AppData\Permissions Problem?
I think it should be related to this forum because I think the problem is something with AppData \ Permissions which is related to Windows 7. I'm having a problem while running\installing Visual C++. The problem started 2 days ago, it did work before. When I'm trying to run I'm getting this...
benben12 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 8 02-09-2011 01:45 PM
Blinking cursor on boot up after installing Avast and after an infection/trojan
Hi guys. I was infected by the "windows security alert" virus/trojan a few days ago, which locked down firefox (Chrome and IE would also not start) and wouldn't even let me shut down. I used another PC to read up before being forced into using the alert and read that it forces you to run a...
RicemanDan Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 16 02-04-2011 02:25 PM
Search Engine Redirect (google, bing, etc.)
Good morning, I'm having a problem with a search engine redirect. Most results in google and bing are redirected to an undesireable site. Also, when I open IE and type in an address, a new window opens up with an undesirable redirect. In addition to this, I'm also having the following problems:...
bdavidson Resolved HJT Threads 11 01-06-2011 10:06 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:08 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts