Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Bsod bad_pool_caller

This is a discussion on Bsod bad_pool_caller within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Im running Windows XP service pack 3 with 1GB RAM. Today, i got a BSOD that said BAD_POOL_CALLER. I wasnt


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-05-2009, 06:51 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 13
OS: XP



Im running Windows XP service pack 3 with 1GB RAM. Today, i got a BSOD that said BAD_POOL_CALLER. I wasnt even at my computer. I had just turned it on and i walked away. When i came back, i got the BSOD. It worked fine yesterday, and Ive never gotten this error before. Whats really weird is that I cant even start my compuer anymore. I get the same BSOD before i can even boot up. Im using my friends right now. I can get into safe mode fine but i dont know were to go from there. Its NOTbecause of something i installed. i havent downloaded anything in a long time.

Ive tried:
Cleaning my heat sinks
Cleaning my RAM drives
Taking out, then putting my RAM back in.

Any help is appreciated.

__________________
kodar22 is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 06:57 PM   #2
Windows Specialist
Microsoft Support Team
 
james137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: new zealand, auckland
Posts: 827
OS: win 7 SP1,win xp x64 ,ubuntu 11.10. virutalbox - win xp sp2 x32, win 7 32, vista 32, ubuntu 10&11...

My System


ok the good news is you can boot into safe mode.

questions: Do you have any recovery CDs or window xp CD?
what is the error code (eg stop 0000000000x00c) something random? take a pic if you can or look under error report?
have you tried system restore?

__________________


nothing is impossible.
james137 is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 07:14 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 13
OS: XP



The error code is *** STOP : 0x000000C2 (0X00000007, 0X00000CD4, 0X00000420, 0XE1BF1008)
Trying a system restore now. Im sure i have a recovery CD somewere, but im not very good at this stuff, how would i run it.
__________________
kodar22 is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 07:27 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 13
OS: XP



When i tried the system restore, I got another blue screen with this message.

STOP: C000021A{fatal system error}
The Windows Login Process system terminated unexpectedly with a status of 0xC0000005 (0X00000000 0X00000000)
The system has been shut down
__________________
kodar22 is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 11:28 PM   #5
Windows Specialist
Microsoft Support Team
 
james137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: new zealand, auckland
Posts: 827
OS: win 7 SP1,win xp x64 ,ubuntu 11.10. virutalbox - win xp sp2 x32, win 7 32, vista 32, ubuntu 10&11...

My System


with that CD you basicly put it in and restart your computer but thats your last plain
__________________


nothing is impossible.
james137 is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 11:30 PM   #6
Windows Specialist
Microsoft Support Team
 
james137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: new zealand, auckland
Posts: 827
OS: win 7 SP1,win xp x64 ,ubuntu 11.10. virutalbox - win xp sp2 x32, win 7 32, vista 32, ubuntu 10&11...

My System


The Stop 0xC2 error message indicates that a kernel-mode process or driver incorrectly tried to perform a memory operation. Typically, faulty device drivers or device software cause this error message.

from http://kadaitcha.cx/xp/stop_error.html#0x000000C2

reading on how to fix it
__________________


nothing is impossible.
james137 is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 11:34 PM   #7
Windows Specialist
Microsoft Support Team
 
james137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: new zealand, auckland
Posts: 827
OS: win 7 SP1,win xp x64 ,ubuntu 11.10. virutalbox - win xp sp2 x32, win 7 32, vista 32, ubuntu 10&11...

My System


for that system restore BSOD there is this

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/156669/en-us


edit::: ok if the link above doesn't work.....


ok i have the good news and the bad news

The good it is fixable. the bad is by the look of it you have to debug stuff....I don't debug program I just replace them... I dont think i can help you anymore on this if you want to debug...find that recovery CD and backup your files is the quickest way.... please someone correct me if im reading the information wrong
__________________


nothing is impossible.
james137 is offline  
Old 10-06-2009, 12:08 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 13
OS: XP



Well if the recovery CD is my best option, then i guess ill do that. What exactly happens when i use it. Do i get to keep any of my files?
__________________
kodar22 is offline  
Old 10-08-2009, 01:52 AM   #9
Visiting Expert
Microsoft Support Team
 
AustrAlien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cowra, NSW, Australia
Posts: 933
OS: XP Pro SP3



Return to the "Windows Advanced Options Menu" (by tapping the F8 key on startup) and choose "Last known good configuration that worked", and press the Enter key. The computer will attempt to load Windows.

If Windows does not start, try the same thing again .... and continue trying for at least 10 times, before you rule that option out as a means of getting your OS up and running again, normally.

Why 10 times? Based on past experience, a successful result is sometimes achieved after several consecutive failed attempts.
__________________
AustrAlien
Google is my friend. Make Google your friend too.
AustrAlien is offline  
Old 10-08-2009, 09:49 AM   #10
TSF Team Emeritus
Visiting Expert | Microsoft Support Team
 
DT Roberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: C:\Windows
Posts: 3,805
OS: Windows 7 SP1 (x64), XP Home (x32), Ubuntu 10.10, Fedora 14

My System

Send a message via MSN to DT Roberts Send a message via Skype™ to DT Roberts

I'd like to try some debugging before you try to recover. Please follow these instructions:http://www.techsupportforum.com/1871981-post2.html

It will provide us with the minidumps and a few more bits of information about your system.
DT Roberts is offline  
Old 01-14-2010, 09:15 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
OS: XP



I've got the exact same issue....would someone check my logs?

I'm an IT tech, and am having issues with my dad's PC. He called the other day to say he was running low on hard drive space. Before I had a chance to get there, he called again and said the computer wouldn't boot at all. I don't think he changed anything to cause this, but who knows.

I got it to my office, and copied everything over to a bigger drive. I tried to boot, and got the bad_pool_caller BSOD. Looking into it more, I realized that one stick of RAM was bad. Now that I've got good RAM, it's still bluescreening. The frustrating thing is that I disabled system restore a while back when he was running low on hard drive space, so I can't go that route.

I've tried a different video card, disabled all extra peripherals in the BIOS (like FireWire, Sound, NIC, serial, parallel), unplugged the floppy and CD cables, ran checkdisk, turned the pagefile off, all with no luck. For the record, safe mode works fine. Also, the bootlogs show the last loaded driver as fastfat.sys.

I followed DT Roberts' link and ran all of the tests. Attached is the result of all of the testing. Any help would really be appreciated.
Attached Files
File Type: zip TSF_XP_Support.zip (811.5 KB, 36 views)
__________________
speertp is offline  
Old 01-17-2010, 11:29 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
OS: XP



Nevermind....I remembered he had a somewhat recent backup and just restored. Problem solved.
__________________
speertp is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 01:05 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 12
OS: win 7 professional, win XP professional



When I used XP, I had never this kind of BSOD. In 2 days with Win 7, it happened 2 times. Please help!!!!
Attached Files
File Type: zip TSF_Vista_Support.zip (746.6 KB, 102 views)
__________________
jazzk is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 02:57 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 12
OS: win 7 professional, win XP professional



Maybe, I solved this problem. When I tried to mount an image in Daemon Tools Lite 4.35.5 from a RAID1 disks (mirroring), the BSOD in question appeared. Then I moved this image to a non-RAID disk and tried to mount it. NO PROBLEMS AT ALL. No BSOD apeared.

I found some threads on other forums about RAID1 and Win 7 and found out that this type of RAID is unstable on Win 7. I hope this could help others with the same (or similar) problems

However, I'll try some other tests to see if this was really problematical RAID1

__________________
jazzk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:44 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts