Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Blue screen - even safe mode

This is a discussion on Blue screen - even safe mode within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi. My other computer, a Dell, is old, and i've been having problems with it for a while. I did


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-12-2007, 06:45 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 120
OS: Windows 7


Send a message via AIM to Psychotron Send a message via MSN to Psychotron Send a message via Yahoo to Psychotron

Hi. My other computer, a Dell, is old, and i've been having problems with it for a while. I did something to make my video card come out. Then when i turned it back on it was the blue screen saying bad_pool_caller. I tried to restart in safe mode, but the same blue screen kept appearing. I have quite a few things i need from that comp. is this the end for it, or is there something else i can do? will taking it to geek squad help?

Thanks, Brad

__________________
Psychotron is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 08:58 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
TheMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 13,690
OS: Win 3.1, 98, NT 4.0, XP Debian 4.0, Kubuntu 6.06

My System

Send a message via MSN to TheMatt

Hi Brad, and welcome to TSF!

First, what OS is this older computer running? What happens if you try to boot from the last known good config?

__________________
TheMatt is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 09:01 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 120
OS: Windows 7


Send a message via AIM to Psychotron Send a message via MSN to Psychotron Send a message via Yahoo to Psychotron

The OS is windows XP. how do i log in from last known config? i've tried all the options, safe mode, command prompt. they all bring the blue screen.


THanks, Brad
__________________
Psychotron is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 09:05 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
TheMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 13,690
OS: Win 3.1, 98, NT 4.0, XP Debian 4.0, Kubuntu 6.06

My System

Send a message via MSN to TheMatt

You select it from the F8 Menu, the same place where you select Safe Mode.
__________________
TheMatt is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 02:03 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 120
OS: Windows 7


Send a message via AIM to Psychotron Send a message via MSN to Psychotron Send a message via Yahoo to Psychotron

I did try doing that, and I still get the same blue screen. Is there anything else I can do?

Thanks.
__________________
Psychotron is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 04:16 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
TheMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 13,690
OS: Win 3.1, 98, NT 4.0, XP Debian 4.0, Kubuntu 6.06

My System

Send a message via MSN to TheMatt

Do you remember the stop error it said?
__________________
TheMatt is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 05:11 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 120
OS: Windows 7


Send a message via AIM to Psychotron Send a message via MSN to Psychotron Send a message via Yahoo to Psychotron

I'm not sure what the stop error is, but it said "bad_pool_caller"
__________________
Psychotron is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 07:01 PM   #8
Wox
TSF Enthusiast
 
Wox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 636
OS: XP Pro SP2

My System


a little research turn this up
Quote:
If you are getting a blue screen in your Windows operating system that says something about a bad pool caller, you are in for a tough ride. The bad pool caller error means that some piece of software somewhere on your computer has done something wrong. For this reason it is important to write down the error codes that you receive with this message to help in determining what exactly is going on.

If you have successfully been able to record these error codes in some way and have access to a computer that is working, the best place to start is on the Microsoft website. Once you get to their website, try entering the error codes that you have written down to see if they can give you more detailed information about the software that is causing the problem and any possible solutions to correct the issue.
__________________
Wox is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 09:09 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 120
OS: Windows 7


Send a message via AIM to Psychotron Send a message via MSN to Psychotron Send a message via Yahoo to Psychotron

ok, i will do that, but the problem is, i can't get to the software because the blue screen just comes up. i'll check to see what microsoft has to say.
__________________
Psychotron is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 09:16 PM   #10
Wox
TSF Enthusiast
 
Wox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 636
OS: XP Pro SP2

My System


good luck..
__________________
Wox is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 09:32 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 120
OS: Windows 7


Send a message via AIM to Psychotron Send a message via MSN to Psychotron Send a message via Yahoo to Psychotron

here is what i have: Stop: 0x000000C2 (0x00000043, 0xCCD040000x00000000,0x00000000)

I went to the support part of the web site, but couldn't find a place to enter the codes.
__________________
Psychotron is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 09:55 PM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
TheMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 13,690
OS: Win 3.1, 98, NT 4.0, XP Debian 4.0, Kubuntu 6.06

My System

Send a message via MSN to TheMatt

Do you have any Iomega software?
__________________
TheMatt is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 09:59 PM   #13
TSF Enthusiast
 
TheMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 13,690
OS: Win 3.1, 98, NT 4.0, XP Debian 4.0, Kubuntu 6.06

My System

Send a message via MSN to TheMatt

I would use your XP disk and run a repair install. From what I have been reading, this should fix it.
__________________
TheMatt is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 10:04 PM   #14
Wox
TSF Enthusiast
 
Wox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 636
OS: XP Pro SP2

My System


try this if you have xp.
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314492
__________________
Wox is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 10:11 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 120
OS: Windows 7


Send a message via AIM to Psychotron Send a message via MSN to Psychotron Send a message via Yahoo to Psychotron

I don't have any iomega software, i also don't have an xp disk it must have gotten lost or thrown away. maybe i can get it on ebay or something. even if i had the disk i can't do anything because of the blue screen. it prevents me from doing anything at all on my computer.
__________________
Psychotron is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 10:24 PM   #16
TSF Enthusiast
 
TheMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 13,690
OS: Win 3.1, 98, NT 4.0, XP Debian 4.0, Kubuntu 6.06

My System

Send a message via MSN to TheMatt

You boot from the CD and run a repair install. You don't boot into Windows.

Look around on the side of your computer. Do you see a Windows XP product key? if so, then you can use any XP disk that is the same version (Home, MCE, or Pro) as long as you use your product key.
__________________
TheMatt is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 10:48 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 120
OS: Windows 7


Send a message via AIM to Psychotron Send a message via MSN to Psychotron Send a message via Yahoo to Psychotron

Ok. there is a product key. so I just insert the disc into the computer and it will boot from it automatically? is that how I boot from the cd? i will try to find a cd somehow. Thank you for your help.

Brad
__________________
Psychotron is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 07:50 AM   #18
TSF Enthusiast
 
TheMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 13,690
OS: Win 3.1, 98, NT 4.0, XP Debian 4.0, Kubuntu 6.06

My System

Send a message via MSN to TheMatt

A lot of the time the boot order will already be set. Take a look at this guide for repairing XP Pro:
http://www.windowsreinstall.com/winx...exfullpage.htm

Note this also applies to XP Home, it will just be a little different. Here are the specific steps for repairing XP Home:
http://www.windowsreinstall.com/winx...exfullpage.htm

Note that XP Media Center is really the XP pro platform without domain support, but you still have to use an XP MCE disk if thats what you have.
__________________
TheMatt is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 05:11 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 120
OS: Windows 7


Send a message via AIM to Psychotron Send a message via MSN to Psychotron Send a message via Yahoo to Psychotron

Hi again, i'm still having problems unfortunately. I was finally able to find someone that had the Dell windows startup CD for windows xp home. I followed as much directions as I could from the link you provided.

I got to the part where it says "to set up windows xp now, press ENTER." As soon as I do that a screen comes up that says "searching for previous versions of windows." after a few seconds the blue screen comes up again and there is nothing I can do. Very frustrating. I've tried all the different things I can do, and nothing works. The blue screen always ends up coming up.

Is there anything I can do at this point, or is my computer just dead?

Thanks,
Brad
__________________
Psychotron is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 06:45 PM   #20
TSF Enthusiast
 
TheMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 13,690
OS: Win 3.1, 98, NT 4.0, XP Debian 4.0, Kubuntu 6.06

My System

Send a message via MSN to TheMatt

Interesting. With the CD, at the main screen where you pressed Enter, instead hit R to enter the recovery console. Once you are logged in, run this command:
Code:
chkdsk /r

__________________
TheMatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble with Safe Mode and installing certain software
Well I have recently come about some spyware and have been diligently trying to remove it. However trying to access my PC in safe mode to remove some of the files prior to boot up will not happen. When I reboot in safe mode I will get into the safe mode screen; letting me know I am in safe mode and...
Subject2Change Windows XP Support 5 07-25-2007 07:50 AM
hijackthis log
gfile of HijackThis v1.99.1 Safe. Safe. Shows the version of HijackThis an. The newest version is: v1.99.1! This should be the newest version. (v1.99.1) Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600) MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180) Safe....
kingsburytony Resolved HJT Threads 8 10-24-2005 05:56 AM
Help! My Computer is stuck in safe mode and have tried everything
Hi, I cannot get out of safe mode. I went into safe mode and whenever I restart my computer the black area shows up and gives me 7 choices: normal, logged (bootlog.txt), safe mode, safe mode with network support, step by step confirmation, command prompt only, and safe mode command prompt only....
Jessica040404 Win 98 & ME Support 34 06-30-2005 02:52 PM
Can't get rid of internet redirector
Any help would be much appreciated. I am elderly and don't understand what is happening. I hope I did this right. Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1 Scan saved at 9:29:09 PM, on 6/9/2005 Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600) MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106) Running...
rmcfeely1 Inactive Malware Help Topics 11 06-27-2005 08:43 PM
WinXPFreezes at Splash Screen, No Safe Mode
Everytime I try to boot...The splash screen freezes after a short time. The POST goes fine. Tried booting to Safe Mode, no luck (I think that's when I got a bunch of text flash on the screen and freeze.) Can't get to a command prompt, either. CAN get into BIOS. Tried reinstalling Windows...
rightwingnut Windows XP Support 47 02-15-2005 08:23 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:24 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts