Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Bad Pool Header

This is a discussion on Bad Pool Header within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. hi all, i having some probs with my comp... i really appreciate if anyone can help me understand what's wrong...and


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-13-2007, 10:45 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 6
OS: Win XP



hi all,
i having some probs with my comp... i really appreciate if anyone can help me understand what's wrong...and i'd be forever grateful if anyone could help me fix it....thanks
i don't know what happened but everytime i start me computer it goes to a blue screen ( for like a sec) and then it turns off and starts again and keeps doing the same thing...for a while i was able to enter my comp using the safe mode but now even the safe mode doesn't work...any ideas?

the error message says "BAD_POOL_HEADER"
STOP 0X00000019 (0X00000020, 0XF9E48F84, 0XF9E49BFC, 0XF98F2D84)

PS- the first time i entered safe mode i tried to restore it to prior setting but it didn't work...

thanks

__________________
un002 is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 11:51 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,088
OS: XP Pro



Read this thread:

http://discuss.pcmag.com/forums/1004321953/ShowPost.aspx

It describes many possible causes for this problem, and report any that are common to you.

Did you recently install any new software or hardware ?

From Safe Mode navigate Start>Run & type "msconfig"

set msconfig to boot in diagnostic mode and see if you can boot to desktop.

__________________
Girderman is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 10:39 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 6
OS: Win XP



hi
thanks for your help, but i can't enter safe mode... is there a way i can enter safe mode with prompts and than do msconfig....and can you please tell me how to access safe mode with prompt

thanks
__________________
un002 is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 11:00 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
quizme1220's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,347
OS: Windows 7 Home 32-bit

My System

Send a message via AIM to quizme1220 Send a message via Yahoo to quizme1220

un002 is your system a brand name (e.g. Dell, HP, etc.) or did you build it yourself. If you can giving us your computer specs it may help us help you, (name of mobo, cpu, ram, hdd, etc.) be as precise as possible. You may also want to take a look at this link http://articles.techrepublic.com.com...1-6031733.html.
__________________
Ad-Aware|SpywareBlaster|SpyBot|AVG Free|HOSTS File|HijackThis
quizme1220 is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 04:49 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,088
OS: XP Pro



You enter Safe Mode by pressing the "F8" key repeatedly (about once per second) as soon as you turn on the power button.

The boot should "detour" to Safe Mode, and from there just select (the plain old) "Safe Mode". You should get a GUI that looks very similar to the normal XP desktop. The resolution will probably be bad, and the size of the icons & their proportions will be messed up, but still basically the same.

From there navigate "Start>Run" and then type "MSCONFIG".

Also, I really did ask those questions in order to get some answers. They were not for decorative purposes only.

Quote:
It describes many possible causes for this problem, and report any that are common to you.

Did you recently install any new software or hardware ?
__________________
Girderman is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 10:18 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 6
OS: Win XP



hi
again thank you for all your support...but now i have another issue with my comp...for some reason it started giving "driver_IRQL_not_less_or_equal" message so i unplugged my comp and NOW THERE IS NO BLUE SCREEN NO ERROR MESSAGE BUT NOW MY SCREEN GOES BLANK AFTER THE WINDOWS XP START UP LOGO, AND THAN JUST SHUTS OFF, i even tried SAFE MODE but it does the same thing...can anyone help me
__________________
un002 is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 10:34 PM   #7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,088
OS: XP Pro



Boot to Safe Mode again, this time choose "use last good configuration" and report back.

If you don't get a response quick, insert your XP Disk and boot from that to Recovery Console and run the following from the C:\ prompt:

fixboot
fixmbr
chkdsk /r
__________________
Girderman is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 04:29 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 6
OS: Win XP



hi
i tried the last known cnfiguration and it did the exact same thing, it show the screen saying WINDOWS STARTING and after that the screen goes black and the computer shuts off...also i don't have my windows xp cd for my desktop which is HP, but i do have restore dvd from laptop which is a gateway the cd is called "application, drivers and operating system restore dvd", will that work or do i need the xp cd i used on my desktop.

thanks... i really appreciate all your help
__________________
un002 is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 04:53 PM   #9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,088
OS: XP Pro



I tread lightly when it comes to offering "help" on the pre-built machines (HP, Dell, Gateway, etc...) because their all kinda weird.

But my guess is No, a Gateway Restore (CD or DVD?) Disk will not work on an HP machine, and if it did manage to boot, it might completely mess the whole thing up.

However, I've read posts about some pre-builts that have a separate "restore" partition on the Hard Drive that you can access by hitting one of the "F" keys (F8, F12, F2 or whatever) during boot. As I understand it, these machines do not come with separate "disks", the recovery data is on the HD.

Also, I would assume that this option is presented to you during boot, in the initial white-on-black text that comes (from BIOS) before the color images from XP. Something like "Press F12 to enter Recovery Mode" or similar language.

AND (from what I think I understand from what I've read) these Recovery Partitions boot into something that looks like an XP disk's Recovery Console. Again, I've never owned one of these machines, and have never done this myself.

If no one comes along that has direct knowledge of your particular system, you might check the Support section of HP's web-site and see if they offer instructions on how to do a recovery operation. Read the FAQ's first, and look for key-words like "Restore", "Recovery" or "Reinstall". If you find something that looks promising, post a link here and I or someone else can look at it and get some sense of how your beast is configured and needs to be managed.

Post the exact model number of your system, and I can go looking for/with you.
__________________
Girderman is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 05:45 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 6
OS: Win XP



hi
i was looking on the hp website as you mentioned and it said that both win 2000 and xp have the same recovery console and i have the operating system back up cd...would that have the recovery console on it and how if yes than how do i get to it.

thanks

BTW my comp is HP - Vectra VL 420 MT
__________________
un002 is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 05:58 PM   #11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,088
OS: XP Pro



This Thread describes how to reinstall XP on a "replacement hard drive". This is the same way you would access Recover Console. The thread indicates an XP CD of some sort is used, which implies that your system had one at one time.

Are you the original owner ? If so, have you looked for an XP CD ? If not, would it be possible to try & get one ?

I'll keep looking, maybe there is a way around this . . .
__________________
Girderman is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 06:10 PM   #12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,088
OS: XP Pro



I read another thread on HP's site about your model and it also mentioned "Recovery" CD's.

If I were you, I would register on their forum and post a question asking if there is either a separate partition with recovery data on it, or if there is a way to purchase the Recovery CD's.

If the cost of these CD's is more than say $50.00, I would seriously consider purchasing a "for real" XP Installation CD and get away from HP and their oddball Restore Cd's.
__________________
Girderman is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 09:32 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 6
OS: Win XP



thanks for all your inputs...i am looking into some of your suggestions
thanks
__________________
un002 is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 11:28 AM   #14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,088
OS: XP Pro



Quote:
However, I've read posts about some pre-builts that have a separate "restore" partition on the Hard Drive that you can access by hitting one of the "F" keys (F8, F12, F2 or whatever) during boot. As I understand it, these machines do not come with separate "disks", the recovery data is on the HD.
Install Everst Home (freeware) and attach it's report (don't post it in the thread). This report will tell if you have a FAT32 partition on the HD for doing a "Restore" operation.
__________________
Girderman is offline  
Old 03-30-2009, 10:20 AM   #15
hwk
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1
OS: XP



I got this error also after reading about it and everyone saying how difficult it was to fix. I decided to use f8 and use last known good configuration. It return my computer to its previous state and I can know go back and see what changes cause this error.

__________________
hwk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please check my header connections
Hi there all, having some trouble with header connectors, colours etc, below is link to mother board and case I have just bought, also below the header configuration I have attached to the board hope it all makes sense, sure it will to someone, many thanks for looking. ...
rangersmith Motherboards, Bios & CPU 5 03-09-2007 12:24 PM
A7N8X Deluxe DMI Pool Probkems
Hello, I recently purchased a pretty much barebones system from my friend. I have an ASUS A7N8X Delux Mobo, 512 SDRAM, I purchased a new Maxtor 250 Gig ATA 133 HD, as well as an ATI 9600 All-in-Wonder AGP card. When I originally installed my new components on first boot I received the...
wickid Motherboards, Bios & CPU 1 09-28-2005 12:48 PM
bad geometry
i own a SAMSUNG SpinPoint P Series SP1614C 160GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache Serial ATA150 Hard Drive. I was changing some partition sizes using partition magic 8.0 when it gave me an error #632 and said that the geometry used was bad and that i would half to use a prog other than p. magic 8.0 or my O.S. to...
blong579 Hard Drive Support 3 09-13-2005 06:22 PM
Is it bad hardware, or is it bad software
Is it bad hardware, or is it bad software I have a network with about 31 workstations. I have a domain server, and an application server. The application server is windows 2000 server, and running Retail Pro. We are experieincing a loss of data. The clerks enter a receipt and then the...
cnl83 Windows 2000 Pro / NT Workstation Support 2 01-07-2005 05:07 AM
Very Weird S.M.A.R.T. Problem. Both HDDs Bad??
Hey all. My computer was acting weird today so I rebooted it to get the error: Pri Master Hard Disk: S.M.A.R.T. Status BAD, Backup and Replace. Now I know that means my HDD is about to crap out on me. But the weird thing is, i took that drive out (Western Digital 120Gig Caviar), and...
mobkon Hard Drive Support 2 12-19-2004 10:54 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:23 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts