Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

All Internet connection disappeared

This is a discussion on All Internet connection disappeared within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Norton Internet Security 2007 stopped working, all internet connections are gone. I must have been hit with a virus but

Closed Thread

Old 11-09-2007, 12:13 AM   #1
Registered Member

Norton Internet Security 2007 stopped working, all internet connections are gone. I must have been hit with a virus but I don't know how. My computer was downloading from E-Mule. I have xp with service pack 2.
I cannot even make a internet connection with the Internet Wizzard. When I use it nothing shows up at the end. I have DSL. I just registered so I am new at this, thanks Dennis

Old 11-09-2007, 12:32 AM   #2
Registered Member

Send a message via MSN to Vheissu_

Hey Dclempa,

Try this:
  • Go to start then click run.
  • Type: Services.msc
  • Now a list of services should be visible, we only want to look at a couple of important ones though.
  • Firstly look for: Remote Access Connection Manager and see if it is started or not.
  • If it's not started right click it, then click properties. Click the start button it is beside the Stop button and then set the startup type to Automatic.

Then try your DSL connection now.

Hope this was of some help to your problem.

Kind Regards,

Dwayne, C.

Old 11-09-2007, 12:37 AM   #3
Registered Member

It is started and is set to manual
Old 11-09-2007, 12:49 AM   #4
Registered Member

Ok Dclempa,

Firstly do you know the reason why Norton Internet Security stopped working if known? Have you tried, uninstalling Norton Internet Security and then reinstalling it by any chance sounds to me that Norton could be the culprit and has somehow made your internet connection rely on Norton or something by changing settings, uninstalling might reverse it, you could give it a try.