Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

A Way to Monitor Computer Usage?

This is a discussion on A Way to Monitor Computer Usage? within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi :) I am wondering if anyone knows of a way to monitor how much time has been spent on


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-15-2008, 02:42 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 10
OS: windows xp



Hi :)

I am wondering if anyone knows of a way to monitor how much time has been spent on a computer on any given day? I thought there might be a way to look that up somehow? or perhaps there's some free software that would do it?

Thanks!
Ralph

__________________
ralphse108 is offline  
Old 02-17-2008, 09:42 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
bhahar84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1,382
OS: Windows XP SP2, Vista Ultimate

My System


Hi ralphse108!

You can open up the command prompt, and type below:

systeminfo

and hit Enter. You should be able to see the computer running time, which stated as uptime

__________________
<<Please post a forum on the issue instead of pm me, since I am not really active here for quite some time>>.:CPU-Z::Power Supply::Recuva::Unlocker::SensorsView::PSU Calculator::Everest:.
bhahar84 is offline  
Old 02-18-2008, 06:17 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 10
OS: windows xp



hmm, thanks, I should hav explained up front that I'm a bit clueless with deeper computer knowledge, how do I run this systeminfo command exactly? also, I should have distinguished between RUNNING time and USAGE time, I am interested in how much time per day the computer has actually been USED, when it is sitting idle, I do not care about that time, etc...
__________________
ralphse108 is offline  
Old 02-18-2008, 10:26 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
bhahar84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1,382
OS: Windows XP SP2, Vista Ultimate

My System


Umm...you don't mean the uptime of the computer? Do you want to monitor and limit the usage of the computer per day? Then, you can use the WatchDog software for that purpose.

WatchDog

You can also search for many others freeware software for monitoring computer on google
__________________
<<Please post a forum on the issue instead of pm me, since I am not really active here for quite some time>>.:CPU-Z::Power Supply::Recuva::Unlocker::SensorsView::PSU Calculator::Everest:.
bhahar84 is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 05:48 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 10
OS: windows xp



i dont need a watch dog software I just need something at the end of the day to tell me how long the computer was actually IN USE, rather than sitting IDLE ... I've tired google but really dont know what terms to use to search with, any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks
__________________
ralphse108 is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 09:52 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
bhahar84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1,382
OS: Windows XP SP2, Vista Ultimate

My System


You can try visit this site:

Brothersoft Downloads

And you can also try to google this terms:

computer uptime freeware
pc uptime freeware




Otherwise, you can also try to open up command prompt, and type systeminfo and hit enter. You can see the computer uptime there
__________________
<<Please post a forum on the issue instead of pm me, since I am not really active here for quite some time>>.:CPU-Z::Power Supply::Recuva::Unlocker::SensorsView::PSU Calculator::Everest:.
bhahar84 is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 11:41 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 10
OS: windows xp



THANKS & sorry for this stupid question but how do i open up the "command prompt"?
__________________
ralphse108 is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 11:46 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 10
OS: windows xp



i think i found it and when i entered the term "systeminfo" i got an error message that said -

systeminfo.exe - Unable to Locate Component - "thes application failed to start becasue framedyn.dll was not found. Re-installing the application may fix this problem."
__________________
ralphse108 is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 11:50 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 10
OS: windows xp



but, is uptime how long the computer has been actually USED or how long it has been idle? thanks
__________________
ralphse108 is offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 10:25 PM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
bhahar84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1,382
OS: Windows XP SP2, Vista Ultimate

My System


Try to click start, then choose Run, type in cmd, and hit Enter.

Lets see what you get if you type in systeminfo on black windows you get
__________________
<<Please post a forum on the issue instead of pm me, since I am not really active here for quite some time>>.:CPU-Z::Power Supply::Recuva::Unlocker::SensorsView::PSU Calculator::Everest:.
bhahar84 is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 05:23 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 10
OS: windows xp



thanks ... i get the same error message i reported before -


systeminfo.exe - Unable to Locate Component - "thes application failed to start becasue framedyn.dll was not found. Re-installing the application may fix this problem."
__________________
ralphse108 is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 05:37 AM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
bhahar84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1,382
OS: Windows XP SP2, Vista Ultimate

My System


Try type below in command prompt,

regsvr32 framedyn.dll



then, try to type the following again:

systeminfo



is it working now? otherwise, try type below in the prompt:

sfc /scannow

it is better if you can make a system restore point before doing the sfc /scannow first
__________________
<<Please post a forum on the issue instead of pm me, since I am not really active here for quite some time>>.:CPU-Z::Power Supply::Recuva::Unlocker::SensorsView::PSU Calculator::Everest:.
bhahar84 is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 06:39 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 10
OS: windows xp



hi, thanks for helping, nothing seems to be working, when i typed in "regsv32 framedyn.dll" i got the following error message -


error message - RegSvr32 "LoadLibrary("framedyn.dll") failed - the specified module could not be found."
__________________
ralphse108 is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 09:20 PM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
bhahar84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1,382
OS: Windows XP SP2, Vista Ultimate

My System


it says RegSvr32 "LoadLibrary("framedyn.dll") failed - the specified module could not be found." ?

Do you have a windows disc with you? Try to put the disc in, and try to type the following command in the command prompt:

sfc /scannow


Then, try to

regsvr32 framedyn.dll once again before try to type systeminfo again
__________________
<<Please post a forum on the issue instead of pm me, since I am not really active here for quite some time>>.:CPU-Z::Power Supply::Recuva::Unlocker::SensorsView::PSU Calculator::Everest:.
bhahar84 is offline  
Old 02-24-2008, 08:05 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 10
OS: windows xp



unfortunately i dont have a windows disk :(
__________________
ralphse108 is offline  
Old 02-24-2008, 08:44 AM   #16
TSF Team Emeritus
Moderator, Microsoft Support
 
justpassingby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 6,472
OS: XP Home SP3 / Ubuntu / Win 7

My System


@ bhahar84 : it seems that systeminfo.exe doesn't exist on XP Home (no systeminfo.exe on my computer). But you can copy it manually on an XP Home installation and it should work.

@ ralphse108 : Try perfmon.msc (start => run => perfmon.msc). I've never used it but it should be able to do what you want :
How to manage System Monitor counters in Windows XP
Support WebCast: Monitoring and Tuning System Performance in Microsoft Windows XP

There's also a microsoft utility called uptime.exe (says it's for NT but it also works on XP).

Try googling for cpu monitoring softwares or computer activity monitors. You could also search for mouse or keyboard activity monitors, it's another approach that would probably give you the same info. Careful with which programs you try, make sure it's safe and contains no spywares first.

About the framedyn.dll missing, here's how to solve it :
"Application Has Failed to Start Because Framedyn.dll Was Not Found"
__________________
Malware removal steps. Post your logs there and not here !
Posting system specs
justpassingby is offline  
Old 02-26-2008, 01:10 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 10
OS: windows xp



thanks justpassingby, the perfmon.msc is interesting, it looks like in there is what i need but how to decipher it? anyone have any idea??

the article you sent was somewhat helpful - "How to manage System
Monitor counters in Windows XP" at http://support.microsoft.com/kb/305610

but really, this is all over my head, can anyone PLEASE explain to me how I
could use this "perfmon.msc" function to tell me actual USAGE time for my
computer daily? I don't want the time to include time when the computer was
sitting idle tho. Can this be done?

PLEASE SOMEONE HELP! :)

thanks
__________________
ralphse108 is offline  
Old 05-23-2009, 03:06 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
OS: xp



I use this one WorkTime http://www.work-time-tracking.com/. Should solve your task. Was looking for for something web based at first, but stopped on this one.

__________________
SunM is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:17 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts