Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

a file that is required to run search companion is missing

This is a discussion on a file that is required to run search companion is missing within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. hi, i have this problem listed in the title and i have followed the most common solution from people who


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-25-2005, 11:54 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 26
OS: xp



hi, i have this problem listed in the title and i have followed the most common solution from people who know how to fix this.

i did the run %systemroot%\inf, thing, found the srchasst.inf file and right clicked it to install, and found the msgr3en.dll, the courtney.acs, earl.acs, inetpref.xml, rover.acs, nls302en.lex, balloon.xls, and other files in the service pack, i386, and srchasst folders search needed to install search companion, but still when the installation ends, and when i try to start search companion, it stills says the same problem.

i have service pack 2 installed on my computer, and im afraid to re-install using my original XP disc since of the compatibility issues with the new sp2 files and old xp files.

please help.

thank you.

__________________
vanguarde is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 12:01 PM   #2
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
Geekgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 15,123
OS: XP Home SP3 x3 /XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 Pro 64-BIT


Hello and Welcome to TSF

http://support.microsoft.com/default...;en-us;Q319949

__________________
Geekgirl is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 12:16 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 26
OS: xp


yeah i did see that page, i can't use the patch that it provides because it required i don't have any service packs installed, and the third option doesn't work because #1. i need to redownload IE (since you need IE to visit the download page, and i use firefox) and #2. i don't have enough disc space to redownload the entire thing. and besides i already have sp2 installed.

i've found all the required files to install the Search Companion, but they don't work (after the installation, the same window displaying the problem still pops up.

arrgh, im really frustrated, i've spent more than 3 days trying to solve this one trivial little problem.
__________________
vanguarde is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 01:03 PM   #4
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
Geekgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 15,123
OS: XP Home SP3 x3 /XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 Pro 64-BIT


Well if you have SP2 then you have service packs


Run the System File Checker

Go to the Run box on the Start Menu and type in:

sfc /scannow ( sfc if not reconized)

This command will immediately initiate the Windows File Protection service to scan all protected files and verify their integrity, replacing any files with which it finds a problem. You will need your windows cd.
__________________
Geekgirl is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 01:19 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 26
OS: xp


oh thanks for the suggestion, but it uses command prompt, which stopped working for some mysterious reason, another dll problem i need to look into.

this all happened after i removed a bunch of files using the safe mode+ad-aware combo, removing wintools, pib, elitetoolbar, and a host of another nasty malware.

maybe the SC and CMD requires some files that were in those programs? (both ad-aware and spybot and hijackthis and cwshredder said they were popup enablers)
__________________
vanguarde is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 02:36 PM   #6
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
Geekgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 15,123
OS: XP Home SP3 x3 /XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 Pro 64-BIT


Sometimes when a system gets so infected it may require the user to do a repair installation. Files get corrupt and nothing runs that same
__________________
Geekgirl is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 03:31 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 26
OS: xp


k ill try a repair installation, just one question though, will my files be saved or do i have to back them up?

wait, even better, you know where i can download these files insteading of redownloading the entire huge sp2 pack?
__________________
vanguarde is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 04:19 PM   #8
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
Geekgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 15,123
OS: XP Home SP3 x3 /XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 Pro 64-BIT


With a repair installation, you dont lose any programs or files. You will need to visit the Windows Update Site and download all of the Critical Updates and Service Packs again.
__________________
Geekgirl is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 05:45 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 22
OS: XP


Windows XP has Error Checking. I don't know if it will help.
This takes about 30 minutes.
Start - my computer - right click local disk (C) - properties - Tools Tab -
Error checking section - Check now - check mark both boxes - Start -
This requires a restart to begin.

Their is another shorter version that I have used.
Start - Run - Type - command - press enter key or Go - Type - chkdsk/F
It should start.
After this runs and you want to leave you have to type exit - enter.
Don't forget.
Type exit and click enter to leave.
__________________
cboy is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 09:56 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 26
OS: xp


ok, thanks everyone for the suggestions, im gonna do the repair installation.


one last question though, how big exactly is the SP2 file that i need to download, since i can't download from the microsoft site (because i use firefox and not IE, microsoft won't let me view the download page) so im downloading from limewire and other p2p programs, i have seen sp2 files range from 15 megs to 250? im guessing the 250 meg file is the full window XP+sp2, which i already have the former, so i just need to know the size of the sp2 file so i can tell which files to download.
__________________
vanguarde is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 03:16 AM   #11
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 21,399
OS: Win7-64

My System

If you're going to download critical OS files via P2P, you have no way of knowing if they are genuine. I use Firefox for browsing and Windows Explorer (not Internet Explorer) for updates.
__________________
koala is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 08:36 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 26
OS: xp


oh wow, thanks, i forgot you can use windows explorer to go on the internet.


um...i can go to the windowsupdate.com site now, but all it comes up is a blank page.
__________________
vanguarde is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 10:45 AM   #13
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 21,399
OS: Win7-64

My System

There's an alternate update site you can use with Firefox
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/s...n&categoryid=7

__________________
koala is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:39 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts