Welcome to Tech Support Forum home to more then 136,000 problems solved. Issues have included: Spyware, Malware, Virus Issues, Windows, Microsoft, Linux, Networking, Security, Hardware, and Gaming Getting your problem solved is as easy as:
1. Registering for a free account
2. Asking your question
3. Receiving an answer

Registered members:
* Get free support
* Communicate privately with other members (PM).
* Removal of this message
* See fewer ads.
* And much more..

 



Want to know how to post a question? click here Having problems with spyware and pop-ups? First Steps
Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Comments And More > Comments & Announcements
User Name
Password
Site Map Register Donate Rules Blogs Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-16-2003, 05:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
GICodeWarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Grand Island, NY
Posts: 187
OS: WinXP Home/Pro, Gentoo, FreeBSD, Debian, Solaris


Send a message via AIM to GICodeWarrior Send a message via MSN to GICodeWarrior
Wacky Email

I got an email from techsupportfourms. All it said in it was "Content-Type: text/plain" and the text was a URL to the file "getmsg.com" which as far as I can tell contains no viruses or otherwise malicious code. It doesn't seem to execute correctly either. Here is the email header:

From : Tech Support Forums Mailer <>
To : GICodeWarrior@hotmail.com
Date : Sat, 15 Mar 2003 14:54:54 -0700

Received: from pacman.vosn.net ([209.151.83.128]) by mc8-f1.law1.hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(5.0.2195.5600); Sat, 15 Mar 2003 13:54:50 -0800
Received: from nobody by pacman.vosn.net with local (Exim 3.36 #1)id 18uJcE-0001FT-00for GICodeWarrior@hotmail.com; Sat, 15 Mar 2003 14:54:54 -0700
X-Message-Info: JGTYoYF78jEHjJx36Oi8+Q1OJDRSDidP
Message-Id: <E18uJcE-0001FT-00@pacman.vosn.net>
X-AntiAbuse: This header was added to track abuse, please include it with any abuse report
X-AntiAbuse: Primary Hostname - pacman.vosn.net
X-AntiAbuse: Original Domain - hotmail.com
X-AntiAbuse: Originator/Caller UID/GID - [99 99] / [99 99]
X-AntiAbuse: Sender Address Domain - pacman.vosn.net
Return-Path: nobody@pacman.vosn.net
X-OriginalArrivalTime: 15 Mar 2003 21:54:50.0351 (UTC) FILETIME=[80A33FF0:01C2EB3D]

My only question is why would I receive such a pointless email? Was it some kind of script error? Hotmail said it was from Tech Support Forums but did not list a specific address. Is it possible that someone is spoofing this websites name for some reason?
GICodeWarrior is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Important Information
Join the #1 Tech Support Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

TechSupportForum.com is a leading support website for your computer needs. We offer free, friendly and personalized computer support. Why pay to have your computer fixed when you can do it for free.

Join TechSupportforum.com Today - Click Here

Old 03-16-2003, 05:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Member
 
GICodeWarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Grand Island, NY
Posts: 187
OS: WinXP Home/Pro, Gentoo, FreeBSD, Debian, Solaris


Send a message via AIM to GICodeWarrior Send a message via MSN to GICodeWarrior
Pin

I just got TWO more emails that look exactly the same as the first!
GICodeWarrior is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2003, 10:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Faugh a ballagh
 
Jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pasco, FL
Posts: 8,476
OS: Windows Vista

My System

Blog Entries: 2
They only time you should recieve e-mail from this website is if you have e-mail notification checked for when someone replies to your message or you have e-mail noitification checked when you recieve a PM. I'll have to look more into this.
__________________
Posting Tips | Advice for New People | Common Fixes |
Agus na damnaithe fágtha gan focal
Glaoigh ormsa i measc na naomh
Jason is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2003, 01:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member
 
GICodeWarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Grand Island, NY
Posts: 187
OS: WinXP Home/Pro, Gentoo, FreeBSD, Debian, Solaris


Send a message via AIM to GICodeWarrior Send a message via MSN to GICodeWarrior
I have now received a total of five of these emails.



Thanks,
Rusty B.
GICodeWarrior is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:25 PM.



Copyright 2001 - 2009, Tech Support Forum
Home Tips Plus | Outdoor Basecamp | Automotive Support Forum

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85